Your first graphic card? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 04:52 AM   #41 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

oh my god a Nvidia fan boy post Must of got bored posting under your other name eh?
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:16 AM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

i always had onboard in my laptops till i got a desktop

which had a mmx440... then my latest = 6600gt
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:39 AM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The very first card I purchased was a Geforce2 Ti 64mb that cost me $150 at best buy.........I don't even remember how old I was at the time, but it was when Jedi Knights: Jedi outcasts had just come out <----------- NERD lol yeah I know, but that's what I plainly remember it by. I knew nothing of comps and didn't know why it couldn't play the game, DUH onboard graphics, friend helped me out back then. The Gf2 ti 64mb was the shiz in it's time

From there a crappy chaintech FX 5700, the 5700 wasn't so bad, it was mainly the manufacturer chaintech, then 6600GT now 6800GT
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:59 AM   #44 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

my (well, really "our") first card was an Nvidia TNT2 Riva 32MB in a Gateway system with:
Pentium 3 500MHZ
12.7GB hard drive (which died and was replaced with a 40GB Seagate)
4x4x24 CDR/RW (which died and was replaced with a sony 52x24x52 drive)
8x DVDROM (which died and was replaced with an LG 16x dual layer DVD burner)
Windows 98 SE (now XP Home)
it is still the family's main PC

then I got my own computer, which is:
Nvidia TNT2 Pro 32MB (as opposed to the RIVA, what a huge upgrade!) which I overclocked to 180MHZ/200MHZ from 142/150 (core/mem)
and 700MHZ Pentium 3 (now 933MHZ, overclocked to 1050MHZ)
160GB Seagate hard drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:10 AM   #45 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

TNT2 Pro 32Mb!! YEAH that was such a weapon when we first got it... lol its so funny looking back at what was good then... imagine what its going to be like in 10 years time!
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:18 AM   #46 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

started out with integrated stuff, 1st real card was geforce 2 mx 400. then a radeon 9200, and now an X850 XT.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:20 AM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm still using it now, I play all my games on it..
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:07 AM   #48 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I'm still using it now, I play all my games on it..
saved alot of money unlike some of us buying new graphic cards every year or so.
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:24 AM   #49 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Voodoo 2000
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 09:44 AM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I've even got playstation games working on it
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.