Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2008, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

Intel Yorkfield processors delayed because of bugs
<b>
Quote:
Last week some sites reported Intel had delayed several processors because of a lack of competition from AMD but according to x86watch most sites missed the real reason why Intel delayed these processors. It appears that Intel is delaying the Yorkfield processors to fix a FSB-related bug that could cause stability issues:
Actually, there appears to be a more practical reason behind the delay, according to reports. Sources at Taiwan motherboard manufacturers are citing problems with the front-side bus (FSB) on certain boards that would use the Yorkfield non-Extreme processors. More specifically, mass-market four-layer boards, such as some P35-based boards, may have "noise" and stability issues, according to PC Watch which cited Taiwan motherboard vendors.

High-end, six-layer boards, such as those that use the X38 chipset, do not appear to have any FSB issues, according to the report. Consequently, high-end (six-layer) boards based on Intel's Extreme QX9650 do not have the issue, but lower-end boards using upcoming Yorkfield non-Extreme chips could potentially have issues. Apparently, Harpertown and dual-core Wolfdale boards do not have issues. Finally, what rumors and reports seem to be missing is that Intel is not necessarily intentionally delaying these processors only because it believes that AMD is not competitive. The more plausible reason is that Intel believes that it has breathing room to fix the issue because of the AMD Barcelona and Phenom delays. The Intel fix may take one to two months, according to reports.
</b>
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 05:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

Thats an old knews, and I already posted it
45nm Core 2 Quad launch delayed due to erratum?
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 06:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

At least they are trying to fix it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 06:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Thats an old knews, and I already posted it
45nm Core 2 Quad launch delayed due to erratum?
If that's referring to a TLB bug (which I think the Yorkfield's also have), then the article I posted is something different.

There is a FSB bug that can cause "noise" and stability issues on some 4 layer motherboards.

Lots of CPU's have bugs in them. It's just now that AMD and Intel are actually telling us about them, really.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 08:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

does this effect the launch of the e8xxx series?

cause if it does then that gives me more time to sell my old rig and get a new one....
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 08:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
does this effect the launch of the e8xxx series?
No, it is only Yorkfield that have the bug. Wolfdale doesn't have any bug
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 10:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1
Wolfdale doesn't have any known bug yet
There. I fixed it for you.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Yorkfield, Harpertown delayed because of bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
There. I fixed it for you.
Truth.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QuickTime streaming media exploit targets unpatched bug Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 11-26-2007 08:25 AM
Motherboard Compatibility for Wolfdale and Yorkfield Processors veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 10-29-2007 07:09 AM
iPod Classic Endless Disk-Spinning Bug Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 10-19-2007 12:11 PM
Crysis Demo DELAYED gurusan PC Gaming 6 09-22-2007 10:10 AM
Intel Yorkfield breaks seven world records maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-19-2007 03:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.