yellowish monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2004, 09:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default yellowish monitor

Hey guys

I just had a weird problem with my monitor. First of all some specs:
Im running an athlon 2500+ on a gigabyte g7vaxp motherboard
512 megs oif ram
radeon 9800 Pro
monitor is a LG Flatron F700B
(i ahve other parts but nothing i think would be relevant to this)

Basically my monitor just suddenyl went all yellowish. Sort of like how your eyesight goes when you look through yellow celaphane. I turned my monitor off, turned it back on and it had gone. a minute later it came back. i slightly touched the back and it went. a minute later it came back...
this time i couldnt do anything to get it off. I turned the monjitor off, turned it back on. jiggled the cords, made sure it was plugged in okay. everything short of restarting. I was in the middle of looking around the net for answers when it just went back to normal!

Its 10 minutes later and havent had any probs with it again.... weird

anyone have any ideas what it is? The monitor is very new (only bought it at the start of July) so i dont see why it would be doing that. I have two mates that have the same monitor and they have never had this problem!

ANy ideas at all??
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

Mine turned Pink one time and the problem was bent pins on the connector.
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to OCC Fan
Default

dude someone peed on it....
OCC Fan is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OCC Fan
dude someone peed on it....
o look at that....a useless post.......

Look on the back of your computer and on the back of your monitor and check to make sure the cables are plugged in all the way and that no pins are bent. If it is in all the way and no pins are bent then try adjusting the "color" on your monitor.
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

If all above methods have failed or there just are no bent connectors or anything, see if your monitor has a degauss feature. I forgot technically what it does, but it basically makes your screen jump in attempt to get the color corrected. Perhaps someone could better explain what it does.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 05:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

maybe u should get a new monitor, if all alse fails. but now there are some really good monitors from samsung and viewsonic. not ure how old urs is though.
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 05:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
not ure how old urs is though.
Well then read his post. He clearly tells you how old it is
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

oops guess it slipped my eyes.
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 11:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

hey guys thanks for the advice. there are no bent connectors. it has just done it again while i started writing this. degausing doesnt work....its very weird. ill check all the connections again

oh and degausing gets all the magnetism out of a screen.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

okay a bit more info. i was just checking all the connectors and everything, still yellow, and i sat back down. windows just sdhoved an error in my face that said there was an error with some driver file and that the graphics card had entered an infinite loop?!?!

I pushe the restard button (it was a screen dump, only way to get out of it) and then when it turned back on the picture was absolutely f'd.

the monitor ha NOW gone yellow again.....the graphics card was VERY hot.........

strange?!
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.