XP, two terminals - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2004, 04:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Jarik :: Tentsu
Default XP, two terminals

Okay, so here's my question.

I know you can have two comps going into one screen, one keyboard and one mouse.

I want the opposite.

I want to know if it's possible to have one comp, with two screens. Each screen has a keyboard and a mouse with a cursor on each screen running XP, but they are still the same comp. So say, when i'm doing something on one screen, I don't have to move the cursor to the second screen, i just move my hand to the second keyboard.

........................................|------------------{USB Keyboard+Mouse1}
............................------------ {Screen1}
{COMP (XP)}-----{
........................................|-------------------{USB Keyboard+Mouse2}

Jarik :: Tentsu is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258


Just a few sites that have something like what you are describing
The only trouble is that the switches work as switches, switching conrol of the same desktop back and forth. It's not two independant environments, as they are the same.

Inaris is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684

you could look into virtual desktop sw such as VMWare...not completely two but close...I had 98 on a virtual machine and it blue screened...thats real enough for me

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans

My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Jarik :: Tentsu

Thanks. I'll look into it.
Jarik :: Tentsu is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

u can check out at Magic Pro. There got barebone series that running ATHLON XP for twin user.

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.