XP Pro SATA RAID instalation problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2004, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default XP Pro SATA RAID instalation problems

I'm building a new computer with three 80g SATA drives that i plan on putting in a RAID 5 array but when i try to install my xp pro it tells me it cannot locate the hard disks. The bios see's all three fine so i know there getting proper power and are connected correctly but xp install still wont see them.

the computer specs are

Athlon 64 3000+ processor
asus k8n-e delux
3 maxtor 80g diamond plus sata drives
Ati radion 6800 xt all-in-wonder card
2 kingston 512mb DDR PC3200 memmory
and a 500w psu

any ideas or answers on this subject would be very helpful.

Geeber is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 01:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE

Im not sure how raid 5 works, but you need to have a floppy to install sata drives in win xp

Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

holy crap, I never thought I would see the day a non server board would come standard with RAID5. very nice.
Anyway, you need to get the correct drivers loaded into the windows environment at build time to use the Raid array. the F6 prompt is where this needs to happen. You can will need to use a floppy to get them onto the computer...
Just so you know, you will only have the capacity of 2 of the 3 drives when set in a raid 5 config... This is due to the parity information being housed on one drive and also used to create the restor disc if one of the 3 dies...

FYI, it's best to use as many drives as you can for this type of application. in this cause you loose 1/3 of the space, add another drive you only loose 1/4. Better numbers I think...
in the SCSI world, you get 14 or 12 drives to play with so it's a bit better, but this isn't bad.
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 02:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4

thanks for the input guys i try them out on monday
Geeber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.