XP Hardware Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2004, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Default XP Hardware Issues

1. The Modem
It produces the error "The remote computer failed to respond" (or something along those lines) but it's the right number (gives modemy sound on phone) and a modem query gives no errors.

2. The Printer
Hewlett Packard Deskjet 710C driver cd isn't compatible with XP and auto detection isn't working.

Any help would be much appreciated!
__________________

amnesty_puppy is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

i am unable to assist u in modem, as u didnt mentioned the chipset name of your modem (or model number), however I have uploaded the printer driver for you for winxp on my server. hope it will work well.

click HERE to get your file.

this will remain on servers for next few days (say a week or may be 2). once u get through it, write here so that i can remove the file.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Default

The modem is a broadcom 56k, using drivers supplied with WinXP at the moment. Are the printer drivers included in XP problematic with this printer? (Got the file btw)

Thanks.
amnesty_puppy is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default


amnesty_puppy,

Yeah, well if the query is a success, the modem works fine. Just fiddle with the configuration settings. sometimes you need to disable the wait for dialtone available in modem options to get your modem dialled. I hope this works

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 06:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Yeah, I've been messing around with setting but I don't really know what I'm doing. I turned the "wat for dialtone" off already because otherwise it claims that there's no dialtone.
amnesty_puppy is offline  
Old 11-30-2004, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

this printer driver is written exclusively for the winXP.

and I have found out two drivers for Broadcom for Windows XP. as I am not on my PC currently, and no access to FTP software, so I'll mail you the links in pvt message, check if wither of them works fine.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.