xp code after formatting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default xp code after formatting

ive been told a clean reformat is the best way, after ive upgraded my mobo , cpu etc. but im keeping my hard drive .My question is will i be able to put my original xp back on the hard drive with the same code? or will there be a problem because the xp has been used on a hard drive with different mobo etc thanks
__________________

english94 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I dont think that will work.
__________________

__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

What are you supposed to do if you computer fu(|<s up? You reformat and then you have to buy a new OS? What's up with that?
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No it will work, all versions of XP have at least 3 activations, and any non commercial are (OEM) unlimited I belive.

I have activated my XP like 50 times...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

Yeah I just did the third activation of my copy.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I read that wrong sorry. I thought you ment useing your old hd on your new system without reformating. That will not work.
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

If you make 3 or more big changes eg: CPU,RAM,VIDEO,HD/CD,MOBO
You will need to call microsoft to manually activate it.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

BTW intel sux. AMD owns. You're a little backwards.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 02:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

No I am on target. 100%

Edit: ATI owns NvidiA
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 02:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Oh great, we're gonna have a flame war, aren't we?
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.