XP Blue Screen / Stop Errors / ETC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 01:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to JaiStar
Default XP Blue Screen / Stop Errors / ETC

I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to post it in, but I hope someone can help me. I'm a tech myself, but this issue has been stressing me for MONTHS now.

First, let me post my PC specs:

OS - Windows XP Pro
RAM - 512 RAM
Mobo - ECSUSA P4VXASD2+
Direct X 9.0c
Intel Celeron CPU (1.8GHz)
Geforce MX400 Vid Card
60 GB Hard Drive

Ok, here's the problem. I cannot run Photoshop 6 and/or 7. I did my updates for everything, and the vid card is brand new, and I added new RAM, and am still getting the error.

When I'm in Photoshop 6 and working on a graphic, lines appear on the graphic... then sometimes, it will freeze and the boxes in the program will blink rapidly. I will try to save the graphic and I get a program error. I installed version 7, and I get the program error and also in addition, I get the XP blue screen w/the IRQL error. Does anyone know what could be going on with this ? I'm thinking I need a new mobo, but if that is not the case, I don't want to waste my $.
__________________

JaiStar is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 02:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to JaiStar
Default

I'm REALLY thinking it's the motherboard... so if I upgrade my mobo, along with my current specs, what mobos would you guys recommend ? I've been looking around at New Egg (and Best Buy -- I am a tech there so I get a good price) and can't really make a good decision. Sooo any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks, guys.
__________________

JaiStar is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Download and run Memtest86+ to rule out the possibility of it simply being the RAM giving you troubles.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to JaiStar
Default

Nope, not a RAM issue either.
JaiStar is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

how many file format types have u used to save/edit? just one or all types?
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.