XFX HD 6970 HDMI Sound output - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2012, 03:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
KpCollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Default XFX HD 6970 HDMI Sound output

Ok I had a good idea which involved me extending my Xbox 360 controller to my living room and using a HDMi cable from my rig to my tv and playing games such as the new batman.

Then it occured about sound.

Ill be using a HDMI cable ( 10 M ) right from the GPU to the TV. At 1st I tought i might need a spdif cable or maybe an optical cable from the mobo, After reading more about my GPU i dont think I need anything. This is what gives me the impression.

Integrated HD audio controller

Output protected high bit rate 7.1 channel surround sound over HDMI with no additional cables required
Supports AC-3, AAC, Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio formats


AMD Radeon

Thats taken right from the AMD website and im looking for a second opinion as to if im right, If im not could you please explain what cables I would need to use?

Thank you
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2 GHZ ( Stock )
Arctic Cooling Freezer pro 7 Rev 2
Asus M5a97
Kingston 8GB 1600 DDR3 Hyper Mem
XFX AMD 6970 2GB 880/5.5 Clock Speed / Mem Clock
160 GB WD HDD + 1TB Spin Point HDD + 500GB Seagate Pipeline HD
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Corsair 850TX v2 PSU
KpCollins is offline  
Old 01-31-2012, 04:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: XFX HD 6970 HDMI Sound output

HDMI is audio and video in one, all tv sets will support both audio/video at the same time on HDMI cable. The rest is device dependent, your GPU supports audio/video on HDMI, but you may need to set your audio device as ATI HDMI in your audio properties.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-31-2012, 04:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
KpCollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: XFX HD 6970 HDMI Sound output

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
HDMI is audio and video in one, all tv sets will support both audio/video at the same time on HDMI cable. The rest is device dependent, your GPU supports audio/video on HDMI, but you may need to set your audio device as ATI HDMI in your audio properties.
The only thing that shows there at the moment Attachment 5113 is the one you see at the top. Thing is the location for this device is the same as the speakers which makes me believe this is for the mobo's HDMI which is an AMD chipset. Maybe it will appear after I connect the device as Ive already had it display all devices working or not.

1 thing that maybe im not aware of or am wrong about is the chipset, Is the mobo an AMD chipset or Realtek for the sound?

ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M5A97

I have AMD catalyst installed and a 5m hdmi cable, if I move my pc I might be able to get that to reach. Ill try that when the kids have gone to bed and see what happens.

Again, thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (92.3 KB, 323 views)
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2 GHZ ( Stock )
Arctic Cooling Freezer pro 7 Rev 2
Asus M5a97
Kingston 8GB 1600 DDR3 Hyper Mem
XFX AMD 6970 2GB 880/5.5 Clock Speed / Mem Clock
160 GB WD HDD + 1TB Spin Point HDD + 500GB Seagate Pipeline HD
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Corsair 850TX v2 PSU
KpCollins is offline  
Old 01-31-2012, 04:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: XFX HD 6970 HDMI Sound output

If you are using HDMI it will be via your AMD/ATI chipset/GPU. If you use an optical cable, it would be via Realtek.

Use the generic windows based audio properties to switch the audio device, as your GPU/Chipset (not sure if your using onboard or what) is also an audio device since it has HDMI.

Just pick the AMD HDMI Output when using the TV/HDMI cable and you *should* have sound.

AMD = ATI
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-31-2012, 09:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
KpCollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: XFX HD 6970 HDMI Sound output

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
If you are using HDMI it will be via your AMD/ATI chipset/GPU. If you use an optical cable, it would be via Realtek.

Use the generic windows based audio properties to switch the audio device, as your GPU/Chipset (not sure if your using onboard or what) is also an audio device since it has HDMI.

Just pick the AMD HDMI Output when using the TV/HDMI cable and you *should* have sound.

AMD = ATI
Yea ill be using the HDMI right to the tv in the living room, its going to be connected to the back of my GPU. I'd rather not go optical as thats just another cable to be then hidden.

I do have on board HDMI but the Chipset is nothing near my GPU so that would suffice for films etc.. but not for gaming.

So does this GPU take its sound directly from the PCI-e slot on the mobo? If this is the case I should like you say get sound directly from the HDMI on my GPU, if not the AMD HDMI listed in the picture above im afraid will be the one on my mobo.

Sigh... Thanks for all your help but I believe the best course of action is to move the PC closer to the living room when the kids are in bed and use a 5m to see if I get sound then work on it from there.

Again Thanks
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2 GHZ ( Stock )
Arctic Cooling Freezer pro 7 Rev 2
Asus M5a97
Kingston 8GB 1600 DDR3 Hyper Mem
XFX AMD 6970 2GB 880/5.5 Clock Speed / Mem Clock
160 GB WD HDD + 1TB Spin Point HDD + 500GB Seagate Pipeline HD
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Corsair 850TX v2 PSU
KpCollins is offline  
Old 01-31-2012, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: XFX HD 6970 HDMI Sound output

As I said earlier, a GPU with an HDMI port is also a sound device, hence the reason for AMD Audio showing in the basic audio properties.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting female SPDIF to a headphone jack? Sound output via HDMI? Luminareo Computer Audio and Multimedia 8 06-07-2011 01:34 PM
Koolance + xfx 6970 = 50 degrees veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-05-2011 10:37 PM
using HDMI and analog audio output peter_ming Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 10-29-2009 07:13 AM
HDMI Output? willdarby Laptops and Notebooks 7 08-06-2009 11:51 AM
DVI to HDMI: HD Output Question Rawmaterial Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 06-17-2008 10:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.