the XBOX as a pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2005, 05:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Default

nice one, i havent been able to reply to this post cos my pc has been up on the blocks all weekend, just upgraded the hard drive, memory and case, whew its a sweet little thing, anyway i got the mobo just ordered it today, the case will be along tomorrow, then i need to wire the power, not that big a deal, and the dvd eject button, still cant find any info about the power supply of the xbox and if you could use it on a low power using mobo, i will prob just spend £30 and buy a specific one, thanks again

mattyg
__________________

bob_man_uk is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 09:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default

why dont u just try putting the xbox pieces in a case? or did i misunderstand and thats what your doin?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 09:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

he said that since the main hardware components of his xbox died, he wants to use the xbox as a PC case by ripping out the original hardware with PC hardware.
I think that is a cool mod to do.
good luck to ya!
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 03:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Default

thanks soloman02 finally a little support, u dont know how many people try to dissuade me from doing this, anyway xbox case shud be coming today or tomorrow so i'll let u know if it work out.

cheers

mattyg
bob_man_uk is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:08 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

you can get home theatre os's based on linux to go on the xbox.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 05:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Default

i might have a look into linux, im not entirely sure what im going to do with it, i might put a wireless card in and have internet or as you said home entertainment, music/mp3s etc

thanks

mattyg
bob_man_uk is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 06:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Default

ok heres a good question for you, is it possible to power an via epia-5000 533MHz board with a xbox power supply
bob_man_uk is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 07:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

you'd rather have XP than linux...you must be joking!:amazed:
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 07:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
you'd rather have XP than linux...you must be joking!
Linux really isn't that good. Think about it, it is FREE, and still hardly anybody uses it
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 07:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
Linux really isn't that good. Think about it, it is FREE, and still hardly anybody uses it
...? i would say thats not true at all. almost all the LAN's i go to people prefer a good Linux than XP and all its problems. Linux game servers are almost always faster than a Windows one (with matched hardware.) It's open source...thats why its free, i'd consider that a bonus since XP has a billion problems/updates and it costs a buttload.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.