the XBOX as a pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2005, 07:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Default the XBOX as a pc

hi people,

kind of an odd question but i have recently had a weired feeling about taking an XBOX case take out all the hardware (xbox harddware that is) and replace it with a mini-itx mobo, and turning it into something hot, now im no n00b when it comes to PC's (i work as an IT techie for a living) but what i need is some kind of guide for rigging up power and cables for DVD drives, power switch etc, if anyone has anyideas please post here as i am very eager to get this project underway,

thanks

mattyg

same question has been posted at

http://forums.devhardware.com/showth...418#post359418
__________________

bob_man_uk is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Why don't you just mod the xbox (soft mod or chip) and install linux. No need to replace all the hardware.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 01:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Yea the xbox is a pc with a graphics card made for tv's. I'ts fairly simple to get linux on a box, and then you can use it on your computer like a regular pc.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

they do a similar thing for PS2's aswell now, if you have the PS2 HD you can install Linux on it easily.
check it out http://uk.playstation.com/hardware/h...generationId=2
dott is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 04:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Why cant you just put XP on it? I modded my xbox by putting an 80-pin on the HD and DVD drive. make loading times faster and such but i lost my warranty.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 04:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Why cant you just put XP on it?
Because none has ported a version to run on it. Since it is closed source it makes it very hard to do. Linux being open source gives you that flexability.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-11-2005, 05:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

you should look again. they even showed it on a MaxPC magazine where they had xp PRO running on an xbox. I dont know what else they did to it but i know it was running.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
Default

wel,

one i dont like linux, too complicated for my liking, sure its free but having to compile your own software it just does my head in (dont drag linux up again i know you can get pre-compiled binaries, just dont go there)

two, i now only have a case, thats it, i should have mentioned that the hardware was broke in the first place and so i had a useless xbox, the dvd works ok since i tried it in another box, but i have asked others and told that there is no way to get the dvd drive working on normal pc hardware, ok so back to my original question is there anyone who can help me wire up the box's power switch and eject button for my dvd-rom that i am going to put in, i also envisage that i will be replacing the fan in the back for a neon fan and another question is it possible to use the old xbox powersupply to power the new motherboard, just questions, if you can see any problems with my plan please sayso now so i can find a workaroud before i buy all the stuff,

thanks y'all

mattyG
bob_man_uk is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

give me a few, there is a way to wire the eject on a dvd to work in the xbox. however, as far as I understand it, you can not use a xbox dvd in a computer because of firmare on the drive itself using keys and encryption. I'll post the link to hook up another dvd to the xbox as soon as I can.. I remember seeing one around somewhere, with nice little pics...
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/samsung-616t.php
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.