x850xt in a shuttle...???! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to pbreaction
Default x850xt in a shuttle...???!

Hey i am building a computer for college and i was wondering if i can put a x850xt in a shuttle or if there is a company that sells the x850xt using only one slot.
- Will it over heat...? or have any issues
Also i have a question why is the x800xt and the AIW x800xt the same price, if the AIW does more..?(alteast thats what i have learned)



here are the comparisons
AIW X800XT
X800XT


Thx, Mark
__________________

pbreaction is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

i thinkit would over heat and the psu's on those things dont give enough power. and usually AIW is more expensive so idk,
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I agree with the guys above. For one thing, you don't have good cooling and ventilation in a Shuttle system. They aren't meant for power gaming PCs, but more for saving space. The X800 series runs hotter than about any series of cards out right now. My X800 Pro gets 80*C on a regular basis, and I have 7 fans cooling my case.

Secondly, shuttles use micro ATX motherboards, and Micro ATX power supplies don't put out the power that you need for an X800XT.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I wouldnt put such a high end card inside a shuttle system. Not enough cooling or power.

And beedubya, your pro gets to 80?? the hottest ive gotten to (my whole computer) is 50 when I OCed it to 2.6ghz. Also, congrats on mod...
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

not true guys. example #1 www.falcon-nw.com's Fragbox 1&2
GageMW is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I don't know, I saw a 6800GT in a shuttle case. I think it could be done. A really good 350W will work with a high end card assuming you only have one hdd, one dvd etc.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Keep in mind Falcon's fragbox isnt your average small form factor PC. I would personally be skeptical building my own like that.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

falcon fragbox? just look at that thing!!! its made for gaming, shuttles are not. they dont put good enough stuff in it for an x800xtpe. if you do then we can call it your little toaster
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

www.monarchcomputers.com

check out their hornets
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.