X800XT PE Problem - Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2005, 05:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default X800XT PE Problem - Help!

Ive just recently upgraded my 9800XT to a X800XT but ive had a few problems since upgrading. Since reinstalling I have installed CS (not CS:S) and BF2 Demo and Ive found that I keep freezing after a random amount of time in CS. I have the latest gfx drivers, latest chipset driver, latest sound drivers, and my gfx card isnt overheating because it runs idle at 30 odd and a max of 50 odd. Yet it still keeps freezing in a game that isnt that graphically chellenging.

Heres the funny thing, I play the BF2 demo on max settings with 4x AA and it doesnt crash....well it hasnt yet anyway, and Ive played them both about the same amount. Yet it does on a game that was made in 1999! As soon as I go into CS i can see some dodgy texture flashing and after a random time I freeze and my scrren flicks off and on, off and on until I just have to restart. One time it did it and VPU recovered and I managed to play on, then 5 mins later it crashed and I had to restart.

Some people have told me it could be that the Gfx card isnt getting enough power, but I read in a review that the X800XT PE draws marginally less power than the 9800XT which was my previous card! And even if it was this, why would BF2 run fine and CS crash, ud expect BF2 to crash well quick with the settings i have it set on.

Other things ive tried is downgrading to Omega and Cat 5.5, none worked, same probs. I also disbaled Fast Writes, also no difference.

If anyone could help me on this it would be helpful. Here is my spec:

Shuttle SB75G2
P4 3.2 Ghz
2GB DDR400 Ram
X800XT PE (Not OC!)

One more thing, one of my friends has the same spec as me except with less memory and a 3ghz proc not 3.2 and his CS runs fine

Any assistance would be good, thanks!

Collett is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 06:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

What kinda power supply?

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 07:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4

Its the default one in the SB75G2, Im not sure what it is exactly, Ive heard its quite low, but shuttles dont draw as much power for motherboard etc.

If it was power tho wouldnt it be under more pressure playing BF2 than CS? If it was a power problem the amount it would need for BF2 is alot more than CS right? So it would crash quicker in BF2, and it hasnt crashed at all.

Its wierd, my friend has the same shuttle as me and the same gfx card, but he has less ram and a 3ghz proc, his works fine. The only thing that would draw more power in mine is the bigger proc, but im not confident that is the problem.

Anyone else have any ideas? Or settings for me to try?
Collett is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

try different drivers, not necessarily newer ones.
the same thing happened on my TNT2 in some games when I was using Nvidia's 70.xx beta drivers. it worked fine when I used the 66.93 drivers
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 08:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4

I've tried some previous drivers, made no difference, I suppose I've only gone back two versions really (Cat 5.5 and Omega which are Cat 5.4 I think). Ill try some older ones, but going back too far might cause the newer games to suffer:/

Anyone else have any other ideas that I can try?
Collett is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

I did have almost exactly the same problem when I upgraded to a 6600GT, and it was indeed the power supply. It crashed in some games but not others. A new power supply solved the problem.

\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 09:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4

Im thinking its gonna be quite hard to upgrade a power supply for a shuttle Anyone else ever replaced one for a shuttle?

And are there any other solutions?
Collett is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

ive got a nearly identical setup to u, only ive got the 3200 and the X850 XT. Try Cat 5.1s, they are great drivers, whcih is rare for ATI


-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.