X800 pro to XT / 6800 GT to Ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2004, 02:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default X800 pro to XT / 6800 GT to Ultra

so you want a high-end card, but can only afford the lower-end version?
fair enough, you see the 6800 Ultra's for over $1000 (Aussie dollars) when the GT's are about half that, or the X800 XT's for $900 when the Pro's are $600
although what a lot of people don't realise is that the only difference is not the card's chipset, but it's BIOS.
you can actually update your slightly lower end video card's BIOS into the higher end version, so you can have that XT or Ultra without paying for the difference

http://www.madshrimps.be/gotofaqlink.php?linkid=2606
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Cool thanks for the info.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

i still like the GT and im getting Ultra performance. But your saying i can flash my bios and get an ultra anyways?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-26-2004, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Um, there is a lot more that goes into it than just flashing the BIOS. You can seriously mess up your card. I flashed the bios on my 9800pro succesfully to a XT. Regarding X800s, you can flash the bios to an XT-bios IF you have one of the older x800's that are VIVO. I believe ATI caught on and and it is 50-50 with the newer VIVO X800 Pros. In general, it is not as succesful of a mod if done on a bb-ATI X800 Pro, as sometimes the x800 Pros are not capable of unlocking those extra 4 pipes due to one or more of those extra pipes being damaged during manufacturing. I have not gathered the courage to try flashing the bios on my vid card yet. Also, the bb-ATI X800 pro also needs a hard mod, not just flashing the bios. You have to use a conductive pen (or pencil) to bridge the two thingamabobs on the card so that you can unlock the extra four pipes. I have a link somewhere that goes into great detail about the soft and hard mods on the X800's. I have no clue about Nvidia cards though.
Flashing a 9800 pro is cake though, you can just flash the bios as long as it has the r360 core. The only way to determine if its an R360 core is to pull off the fan/hs and see it with your own eyes. There is no program that can tell you for sure if its a r360 core as opposed to an r350. ATITool showed my core as a r350 but low and behold I checked the chip and it was a 360.
__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 05:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well the eVGA 6800GT I believe can simply be OC'd up to 6800Ultra speeds. Don't think it needs a BIOS flash except to maybe display the card as 6800Ultra
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 6800 GT's already have the extra 4 pipelines, so appart from the clock speeds increasing, a softmod would only make a difference to the card being recognised as an Ultra instead of a GT
although the vanilla 6800 has 4 less pipelines
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

It's not as simple as that, though it sometimes can be. You've got to know exactly what you have and want to flash to prior to it, or it could all end in disaster. Similar chipsets can generally flash to others to some degree, but they won't have the architecture to support it in a lot of cases.
Smauler is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 10:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

How do I tell if my X800 Pro is VIVO? I would LOVE to be able to safely unlock those extra pipes. I think that would end my Doom 3 lag problem.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Default

but will it work chris, i dont no thats for u to find out , anyway i was thinkin of getting a 6600 GT there very cheap and are will play most games out, very well (but u would have to low the resolution a bit)
illusion_vx is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 03:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

well i have oc'd it to ultra and i think it would be awesome to save a couple hundred dollars for it to recognize as an ultra. that would be sweet cause i could change my sig to lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.