X800 Pro problems...terrible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2004, 02:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default X800 Pro problems...terrible

I got my system built with the X800 Pro and installed FarCry. The graphics are beautiful inside, but once you get outside, the graphics screw all up and the game is unplayable. I spent $425 for that card and don't expect things like this to be happening!
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 03:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Same thing happened with mine, update all of your drivers.
__________________

Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

By mine I'm referring to the 9800PRO in my sig, BTW.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 03:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

If you already have the latest drivers, try rolling back one or two versions and let ATI know since they come up with new drivers every month.
make sure that all previous drivers were completely remove since this may cause similar problems.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 04:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Always stay up to date on drivers.

If that does not fix...email ATI and describe the problem so that it may be fixed in their next driver release.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 05:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zerozero
If you already have the latest drivers, try rolling back one or two versions and let ATI know since they come up with new drivers every month.
make sure that all previous drivers were completely remove since this may cause similar problems.
I removed my old drivers and it cause very low frames per second. With the new drivers over the old ones, the problem still existed. I knew there was a reason I was an NVidia person until this card.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 06:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Most likely you still have some NVIDIA files for their remove isn't very good. Try Detonator Destroyer (google it) or a similar program and remove every remaining file. Hopefully, this will solve your problem
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 06:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

This is a new computer. There is no nVidia files on this system
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 06:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to Borgmeister
Default

Is it shop bought or home made?

If shop bougbht ring their tech support, if its your own build, you have screwed up im afraid. My mate got a x800 pro and farcry looks the bomb.
__________________
My \'Rig\' (how ghey does that sound?

AMD Athlon 2500+ Mobile@ 2400Mhz
1024 Mb Corsair XMS 3200 DDR RAM(the stufff with the activity LEDs)
ABIT Radeon 9550(water cooling accident)
Jeantech Butterfly V2 Easy maintainence case
Abit AN7 \"guru\" Motherboard
2x 160Gb Samsung SP160N HDD
DVD-RW
DVD-ROM
Netgear 802.11g Wireless Network/Gigabit Ethernet.

Mail me on Borgmeister(at)Gmail(dot).com for invites if you want!
Borgmeister is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 06:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I was reading on another forum that it might be a game problem, not a gfx card problem. There is a patch for FarCry comming the first week of July. Lets hope its small enough for my slow dial-up connection.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.