X800 Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2004, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default X800 Pro

I read that switching from my current Nvidia video card to the X800 pro video card that it would be best for me to reformat my hard drive to get great performance. Can i reformat my drive and not have to completely reinstall windows? the reason i ask this is because I have an HP and since it came with windows installed i dont have a seperate copy to re-install.
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

You don't need to reformat, just make sure you remove the Nvidia drivers COMPLETELY.
__________________

Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

i read over on nvnew.net that some guys switching between ati and nvidia were getting crappy benchmark scores even after completely removing drivers from the previous card but as soon as they reformatted the scores rose by large margin.
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

It's not the drivers, it's the fact that their HDD's were probably cluttered up with stuff.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wartorment
It's not the drivers, it's the fact that their HDD's were probably cluttered up with stuff.
What you said is actually the truth, infact it was probably leftovers from nVidia drivers that are either impossible or just really really hard to find and delete.

You know, from what i heard about the original Detonator drivers, nVidia made them hard to get rid off and prevent other people from installing other video cards properly.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-13-2004, 06:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

exactly what wartorment said. Just uninstall the old drivers, and reinstall the new ones.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 01:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

but my question still remains,. can i reformat without having to reinstall windows?
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 01:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

No you can not. When you reformat your harddrive that completely erases everything and deletes your old partition and creates a new one. Just do it will make your computer faster just back up your files on cd.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 02:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Whenever i upgrade bits on my comp i always reformat my drive. Once i installed a new chip and my windows completely crashed out the next time i tried to load it and wouldnt work again. (better safe than sorry)

And if you ring the place where you got your computer from, they should be able to provide you with some sort of a copy of windows (like a recovery CD or something). That way you can just backup all your stuff onto CD and reinstall.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 08:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

run a defrag (if it has been a while)
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.