x700pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2005, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 24
Default x700pro

I picked up an x700pro 2 weeks when i built my new computer.

Ive been hearing alot about how the 6600gt is a far superior card.

Here is my question

I understand the 6600gt kicks the pants off the x700pro for most fps games. However, Im a MMORPG gamer and RTS the one and only shooter i play is CS which the is probbaly one of few games in which the x700pro excels.

So this being said. Should i keep x700pro for my type of games, or do you tihnk the 6600 gt is a better choice. Im thinking that since most MMORPGS arent all about textures and whatnot, and more about polys and huge landscapes that the x700 might benifite from having 256 megs of memory vs 128.

what do you think ?
__________________

AMD_Rob is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 24
Default

On a second note. My computer randomly restarts at least once a day, and when it does a blue screen comes up saying something along the lines of NOT EQUAL NOT LESS, dumping physical memory etc etc. anyone know what this might be all about ? i know its kinda vague but next time it happens ill make sure to write all the details down and post them.
__________________

AMD_Rob is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 24
Default

i alos just stumbled across the x800gt , which seems comparable to the 6600 gt, however it has a 256 video memory.

FYI i paid 180CND for x700pro, i can get 6600gt for 189 and the x800gt for 210
AMD_Rob is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

6600 GT would be a better deal, because it supports shader model 3.0 which is required for future games. X700 Pro is a big rip-off, and it doesn't play CSS much better than the 6600GT, if at all.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

6600GT
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
6600GT
Its amazing how you could go to each and every thread just responding with "6600GT" in all of them and the response would be appropriate in over half of them.

You might also want to consider the 6800 regular, because it is a little more expensive than the 6600GT, but is a better card.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Its amazing how you could go to each and every thread just responding with "6600GT" in all of them and the response would be appropriate in over half of them.

I can't wait for TF2 .
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
I can't wait for TF2 .
Yeah, but the admins better be very selective on who gets into TF2...if certain people get in who I will not mention by name, I will be very angry.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Larry also said that we would have to re-register. Is that true? or cant he just give us access to the site?


Can I come to TF2?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 03:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

cough cough, i think your missing someone

anyways a 6800 is a very good card, especially when you can unlock the pipelines and OC it to GT speeds, but the missing 128MB memory is holding it back.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.