x64 os - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 09:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default x64 os

I recently bought a new AMD Athalon x64 processor and I was woundering where i could get a x64 os. I looked at new egg but u have to buy hardware with and i dont need or can afford any more hardware. The only thing i need right now is the x64 os. any suggestions
__________________

DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I think there is only a beta version available from the microsoft web site. Poke around there.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

The Beta is crap with them beta drivers right now. Plus it don't have very many default drivers.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

no, you cannot get the beta anymore from Microsoft, they took it off their site a little more than a week ago. I think at this point you will just have to wait until it is available for the end user to buy. Cant tell you when that is, but I cant imagine it will be very long.
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

try any of the major linux distros, 64 bit linux kernel has been around for more than a year, and its free
horndude is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Microsoft still owes me money for never sending that damned cd......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

microsoft sucks but there OS is pretty much reliable it just there Costumer support that bugs me. Micrsofts Mice are nice though you have to admit.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

One of my local computer stores seem to carry it, so I am sure it's out in the US :-\.. In anycase, the OEM agreement that MS has with vendors requires for the customer to buy a piece of h/w that is "critical" for the operation of the computer - i.e. inside the box components. The retail version is usually expensive. If you wanna buy the OEM, it might be worth it to buy "something". Maybe u have a friend who's on the market for something? A MS ownership should be tranferrable ..
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

you got a friend in the market for something, simply give him the money and have him order it when he orders his parts. Thats what I'm going to do.
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GrimReaper23
Micrsofts Mice are nice though you have to admit.
Thats about the only nice reliable thing they make.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.