X200 vs 6150 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2007, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default X200 vs 6150

Which GPU gives better performance, the ATI X200 or the Nvidia Go6150 (both mobile GPUs)? What's the difference between them? Thanks!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

The Go6150 would give a slightly better performance. I believe the Go6150 has a faster core clock, more pipelines or shaders, and supports shader model 3.0...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

There are 3 versions of the ATI Xpress 200M:

1) Xpress 200M / X200 for Intel:
Slow 350MHz core, slow shared memory, and has 2 pixel pipelines and 2 vertex pipelines. Based on the X300 GPU. This is the worst one.

2) Xpress 200M / X200 for AMD:
Slow 350MHz core, slow shared memory, and has 4 pixel pipelines and 2 vertex pipelines. Based on the X300 GPU. Pretty good integrated GPU.

3) Xpress 200M / X200 for AMD with 128MB Dedicated VRAM:
Slow 350MHz core, fast dedicated memory, and has 4 pixel pipelines and 2 vertex pipelines. Based on the X300 GPU. Best GPU, since it has dedicated memory instead of shared like all the rest.

The Xpress 200M was later tweaked with a faster clock speed and marketed as the 1100, then further tuned and marketed as the 1150. It was then replaced by the even faster 1250 and 1270's, which are based on the X700.

Then you have the 6150. There are 3 main variants of this family.

The 6100, the 6150 (with 2 pixel pipelines), and the 6150 (with 4 pixel pipelines). Most laptops that use the 61** GPU are the 4 pixel pipelines and 1 vertex pipeline variants. It uses shared memory, but it has a much faster clock speed of 475MHz. The 6100 is a slower variant (running at 425MHz) and has less video features- but is pretty much the same. There are no 6150's to my knowledge that come with dedicated VRAM in notebooks.

I happen to own two laptops that have these two GPU's (both use shared memory). One is in a Compaq Presario V2000Z, and it uses an Xpress 200M (AMD) with shared memory. The other is in an HP Pavilion DV6000Z, and it uses a GeForce Go 6150 (4 pixel pipeline variant). They are very similar in performance, but the 6150 comes out on top. If you are lucky enough to be looking at a X200 with dedicated graphics, choose that over all of these. It will provide much better performance.

Hope this helps .
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

Thanks buddy, that does help. The thing is that I had a Compaq V5000 notebook (3300+ sempron) with the X200M; it said 128MB memory and took 128MB out of my ram at all times. I sold that notebook to get the Presario F500 with Athlon X2 and go6150. This new one cost tme 50 dollars to upgrade (106 with tax) so I wanted to know if i got ripped off or not.
The go6150 takes 64mb out of my RAM at all times, but in the dxdiag display tab it says "approx total memory 281MB".

I was also thinking that if the RAM is faster (DDR 333 for the old one, DDR2 533 for the new one) it will have better performance.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 06:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

Your F500 with Go 6150 (along with it's dual core Tyler) should provide better performance all over. The V5000Z also uses the old desktop Socket 754, so you would never be able to upgrade to a mobile X2 if you stuck with it. Your new F500 uses Socket S1 (much better).

To bump up your VRAM size, go to BIOS (press F10 at startup), go to the System Configuration tab, and then next to VRAM size, change it to 128MB. Then press F10 to save, exit, and restart. It reads "approx total memory 281MB" because that's how much Vista can totally allocate to your video card (including what is set in BIOS). Mine reads 394MB, with 128MB allocated all the time. So if you game, it might be a good idea to increase it (if you have the RAM to spare).

So for $106, I think you got a good deal on your upgrade.
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

its the 6150 GPU, cuz if i'm correct its on par with a x700 hypermemory ATi
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 11:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

i have the X550 its crap
Nick is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

The X700, even with hypermemory (which I don't think they make non-discrete X700's for mobile platforms), would still kill everything else since it has 8 pixel pipelines (and 6 vertex pipelines). Speedwise, it's exactly the same as the X200 (clock is much slower than 6150), but those extra pipes really open things up.

The X550 on the other hand is certainly also a step up from the 6150, but I think those are mainly low-end desktop cards (beefed up PCI-e versions of 9600's). I don't think the X550 is being used in notebooks.

Just about anything modern with dedicated VRAM should be able to outperform any mobile integrated graphics card that's out there (no matter how sucky it is, because integrated graphics are already the lowest of the low).
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 10:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: X200 vs 6150

i concur
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geforce Go 6150 Shane12m Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-19-2007 12:27 PM
Question about clocking on a GeForce Go 6150 Shane12m Overclocking and Modding 16 06-12-2007 07:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.