Wuts Wrong Here?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2005, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Wuts Wrong Here?!?

Ok, I have been really mad at my ISP for the past few monthes... cough cough never liked em cough cough...... neway.... i havea 56 k modem BUT ONLY CONNECTION AT 19.2 KBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!


I have called several times to wait forever to hear them say this...... Check your phone line sir..... the phone lines fine... so any idea wuts up?? or ne suggestions??
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

First, this should be either in the Internet section of the Hardware section. Second, what modem is it. Try to get an external modem if you can't go cable or DSL. External modems get much higher baud rates on noisy lines.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's the phone line limiting you, im with the ISP. However, inside or outside, we dont know.

This is the most likely
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 04:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I was going to suggest it was his phone lines but he insisted it was not. However, it most likely is if you live in a rural area. Where I live, nothing higher than 19.2 is even possible because the phone lines are still voicegrade analog. Thank the maker Cox cable came into my area.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Well.... i have had problems with my phone line and my parents line getting mixed together in the past.... such as im on the phone hearing my moms convo with her mom or what not..... could this contribute?? its not doing it now..... but if it is... i had another computer before this one... a P.O.S. that i swear had a spoon for a harddrive... ( in ohter words... it f*cking sucked).. but it would connect at 42 kbs... then i bought it to this computer and its only 19.2.. but still a 56 k modem....




*wishes for dsl to come the he*l out where he lives *
Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.