WTF!? 4 GPU in SLI? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 06:28 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea, but they buy their own computers...they use like...server farms to do their caculations. Like LOTR used a server farm somewhere in spain to do their video editing. And the architects and studio sometimes use macs and/or have bigger budgets for much more expensive computers. Like server farms.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 06:44 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

4 GPUs, hmmmmmmm......*cough*waste of money*cough*
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 08:49 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
I'm down for a dual GPU card, but not that asus one that's a complete monster, but I want a dual GPU card that'll run in a single PCI-E board and I'll be happy.....

Gigabyte makes a dual gpu card with 2 6800gt chips on it. The formfactor is much smaller compared to the asus dual gpu card.

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
4 GPUs, hmmmmmmm......*cough*waste of money*cough*
a good waste of money =)
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 09:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Senseless - yeah I'm aware of that gigabyte board, I've seen quite a few pics of it, and infact I think it was posted not too long ago, same size as far as height just longer than current cards lol

There is some speculation though that ASUS might shrink that card because it was just a reference design
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 09:40 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Yea, but they buy their own computers...they use like...server farms to do their caculations. Like LOTR used a server farm somewhere in spain to do their video editing. And the architects and studio sometimes use macs and/or have bigger budgets for much more expensive computers. Like server farms.
Most companies doing intensive graphical rendering that does not involve a gaming enviroment most likely won't be using an ATI or nVidia core, they'll most likely have a wildcat realism or whatever those 512bit VRAM cards are called, which are not so much desgined for speed, but in the same sense as ECC RAM, for reliability and to stray from as few errors as possible.

As for the card sizes, I guess there's no real way of avoiding it, card sizes have constantly grown and unless a new breakthrough happens, cards are just gonna keep getting bigger. Mind you I assume a new form factor of motherboards will be devised specifically to house these monsters...
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:12 PM   #26 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Anyone at the bottom see the story about the 3rd SLi that Gigabyte is developing? They havent even released the 4x SLi, and they are already making it known for 6x SLi. It's beyond Ridiculous, Nubius, it's friggen ludicrious!

http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews...20_153522.html
Him is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:50 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Anyone at the bottom see the story about the 3rd SLi that Gigabyte is developing? They havent even released the 4x SLi, and they are already making it known for 6x SLi. It's beyond Ridiculous, Nubius, it's friggen ludicrious!

http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews...20_153522.html


"No one will ever need more than 640k of memory" --Bill Gates

Contrary to popular belief you can do other things besides play video games with high power video cards.. There are a few pro audio companies researching/testing the ability to use GPUS for audio mastering. Imagine if you could use GPUS much like you use normal cpus.. Instead of having clusters of cpus, you'd have 10 or 20 machines with 4 or 6 gpus each.. With the gpus processing the number crunching or modeling tasks.

Another scenario..

Maybe some big bad stock broker wants 12 monitors.. How are you gonna do that? The pcie parhellia can only do 3, i vaguely remember something about a card that would do 5 or 7, but other than that you're SOL.. With 4 pcie slots you could take 4 pcie parhellias and link them together for a total of 12 monitor outputs.

I'm considering buying this board (after a little more research) heres why..

1) dual core intels are due out tomorrow

2) The main reason i wanted SLI was for 3 monitor capability.. Well, suprise suprise i can only do 1..

Whats the fun of playing a spanned video game over 2 monitors when your focal point is the middle of the 2 monitors (where there is no monitor..

This way i could get 3 dual gpu cards, have more than enough power per monitor to display whatever it needs to display, and i would have a center monitor for the focal point along with the 2 side view monitors.. Effectively giving me a 180 degree field of view.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:58 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well it's been known for some time that GPU's are ridiculously more complex than a CPU. Millions more transistors and overal very efficient intraquite processors.....like I said, I'm still waiting until it basically becomes it's own motherboard with is mounted directly above your existing motherboard with some sort of high speed interact cable, with the ability to add memory and swap out GPU's by use of sockets just like CPUs
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:10 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Well, technically speaking with this new Crossfire approach by ATI, you could probably just dasiy chain a ton of identical cards together and use that special connecting adapter that they are using now for Crossfire. 1 Master and i don't know 7 other slaves? One hell of a motherboard and case is needed but, i guess it could be done. Why not?
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.