WTF!? 4 GPU in SLI? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 03:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Thats insane. There really isn't even a need for SLI when you can do almost anything with a computer with just a 128MB Vid Card. No need for 1GB of Vid RAM, or 2GB if you get 4x 512's.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

oh my, nubius is going to have a field day with this

SLI = Good idea from a marketing point of view, bad for the normal extremist

Is this revenge for ATI's dual GPU code (that is superior from the looks of it )
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
oh my, nubius is going to have a field day with this

SLI = Good idea from a marketing point of view, bad for the normal extremist

Is this revenge for ATI's dual GPU code (that is superior from the looks of it )
I dont think that this is revenge, because it was Gigabyte who made this. I think that is is Gigabyte saying, "No, my motherboard is better than yours. Nya Nya."
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Boy, Nubius should love this one when he sees it.

Yet another waste of money... (4) Nvidia 6800 Ultra's PCIx - that's like $2,200.00... No thanks... I think they are really stretching on upgrading technology now. If they wanna create something worth $2,200.00 they should design and create a stand alone graphics component. Something external with it's own case, cooling, power supply, ram, the whole nine yards. It could all be connected to the motherboard by an adapter through the back of the PC case/PCI slot and connected to PCI Express card.

That is what they need to work on.
I dont know why you guys want a damned graphics card out side the case.... Just takes up more room that some people DONT HAVE.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

because when graphics reach into the range of $2200 you may as well start just buying another comp and find a way to slave it or something. or at least steal a couple of fx55s and mod them to do graphics work, jesus.
GageMW is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 04:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Be easy if they made the gaphics card to where you can set it in the 5.25 drive bays or below them, because not everyone use's all of that space and it would make room for other add in cards you would need in the back.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ridiculous

course you all knew I'd say that, senseless likes the idea though except for the whole intel aspect.

Buuuut yeaaaaaaaaah I'm down for a dual GPU card, but not that asus one that's a complete monster, but I want a dual GPU card that'll run in a single PCI-E board and I'll be happy.....either way though it's like someone pointed out, these systems are so damned expensive you might as well buy a console instead of trying to keep your PC up to date.

This falls under the category of "if I was just so ridiculously rich"
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I really don't see the point of having two cards equipped with dual VPUs to begin with.

With that kind of setup not only would be roasting your system with heat, 10 bucks says most boards would snap in half under the weight of the cards with good heatsinks based on the card sizes I've seen.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah, my 6800GT is already pretty damn heavy with the MAZE4 on it honestly....I couldn't image two MAZE4's on it and then it dealing with that weight all being supported by that tiny *** little amount of PCB that slips into the socket.....you'd need zipties for sure.....hell after thinking about how heavy my card is I almost want to go put some zipties on it right now to take some stress off it, so it'll also be ok to move without so much worry
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 06:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

You know, gaming isnt the only market, I know, I know, hard to believe isnt it !!!

Ever been in an architectural firms studio area?There are some pretty gnarly high end graphics workstations out there that can use a few GPU's........and CPU's too.Ultra hires monitors,sometimes 2 or 3 hooked to one PC can use alot of vid RAM too.

Im guessing alot of this by both nvidia and ATI is mostly just for bragging rights and they are showing off just because they can, but peeking ahead a year or two and with cell processors and multicore CPU's, some of this makes sense, they are just way ahead of the rest of the hardware sector as usual.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.