wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2009, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

What the heck now?? I found another board I want, but I'd have to get new RAM for it (DDR3, but my PII 940 is an AM2+/DDR2 chip)..

Anyway.. I'm tryin to flash my BIOS to the newest versions and this piece of crap BSOD'd twice on me already! I've dropped all the bios settings back to stock, not overclocked.. I'm about to bump the VCore up if it does it again. The CPU meter is registering at 100% for most of the flash..

Using @BIOS on a Gigabyte board.. On liquid too...
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

I don't know if you ran memtest yet, but its possible that you cooked your RAM.

Clear CMOS and start over if you haven't already..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

^ If it blue screens on me again, I'm gonna clear the CMOS. It made it thru the second update so far..

Somehting is telling me this chipset doesn't like heat... AT ALL... I'm really jonzing for a 790FX board.. This is a 790GX board, but it's been buggy lately.. It won't let me get anywhere NEAR 4 gigs.. It booted 3.8 before, but won't go near it now..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

Do you have a water cooling block on the north bridge?

Could be worth it to throw a High CFM fan on it, if it does not have a block.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

no water on the NB... I've thought about it.. I've felt the heatsinks during operation before and the darn things aren't even warm.. I've been thinking about replacing the thermal compound on them, but I don't want to take the board out to do it..

I'm getting some nice airflow through there.. All of the fans on this Antec 900 are on the medium setting, and the top 200mm fan is on high. Ambient temps here are pretty cool as well.

I'll stick another fan in there right quick.. I had it sitting on the GFX card last time pointing up at the NB/MOSFET heatsinks..

Board is a GA MA790GP DS4H..

Here's a pic.. just because I can.. I love my Blackberry.. Pics could be better, tho..
My top UV Cold Cathode crapped out... :\



Flashy Flashy!! I love having a laptop!
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

Are you trying to flash your bios thru Windows?
If you are it's a very bad idea.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

Most flash utilities are through windows/OS now.

they work fine so long as your computer doesn't turn off in the middle of it.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

^ it did before.. it crashed the first time... THen I dropped the clock off..

I love this @BIOS Feature thru Gigabyte.. Very handy... Eliminates the need for thumb drives and 3.5 floppy discs.. I DL'd all 4 bios upgrades and just flash away... Very easy! -Had to start over after the first crash.. Had to DL ALL of the upgrades again from F3 to F6..


Ok.. It made it through the last F6 BIOS Flash with out a crash-fit- of bluescreen madness... So I guess I'm good to go now until something buggy rears its head.. LOL

Just wondering why it would BSOD from a VERY basic 15x clock and then BSOD again on stock frickin settings?? Very odd..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Most flash utilities are through windows/OS now.

they work fine so long as your computer doesn't turn off in the middle of it.
Most mobo manufacturers have a way to flash your bios thru Windows/OS. This does not mean it is safe or a good way to flash. By having an OS in the background it allows to many other possible operations to be performed while flashing. This thread is evidence enough, "BSOD twice during Bios update". Antec is lucky his PC is still operating.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: wow... BSOD twice during BIOS update.. on STOCK settings!

That does not happen to the majority of people using through OS utilities.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to update system BIOS (16) SFXBrandon Microsoft Windows and Software 8 07-15-2009 11:41 PM
Bios update failed now what? mikesx4911 Laptops and Notebooks 4 06-13-2009 12:50 PM
BIOS settings reset on restart Kurt Rambis Overclocking and Modding 10 01-29-2008 04:00 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Overclocking or what CPU settings in BIOS? blakeas Overclocking and Modding 7 06-08-2007 09:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.