Wow, AMD alien to me, help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default Wow, AMD alien to me, help please

I was reading the AMD vs Intel forum and amd sounds cool, so i went to look at some of them and i am completely confused!

So i am assuming that 1ghz intel is different from 1ghz AMD, what would be 4ghz Intel in AMD???

People were saying that AMDs were cheaper then intel, yet i saw one for $900CDN, the intel one i was planning to get is only $296.

So can someone help me, like wat socket for AMD do i want, and how many ghz do i want, and i see that AMD is also measuring their chips in BITs, i really need some help, lol.
__________________

glopal is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Okay.

If you are interesting in more gaming than apps, or even maybe 50/50 between the two, then go with an AMD 64. I would SUGGEST going with the socket 939 boards, as everyone here says they are the future (I don't know for sure).

About which AMD 64bit...?

Well I would suggest you look at your budget, you will notice that the 2939's make a price jump right after the 3500+, which is a great chip and many people here have it so they will tell you how it is im sure, if you ask them.

But, if that is a little high for your budget, then I would suggest a 3200+ in the socket939. Or the 3400+, which is a level up, but MAKE SURE you are looking at the s939 version, not the 754.

Im not exactly sure the exact equivilant of a 4.0ghz intel = AMD...

But I would bet some money that the AMD 3500+ would outperform it in any game.


__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 09:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Go 3500 AMD 64 for games. You will NOT be dissapointed.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

those benchmarks really show the power of AMD.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 04:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: Wow, AMD alien to me, help please

Quote:
Originally posted by glopal

People were saying that AMDs were cheaper then intel, yet i saw one for $900CDN, the intel one i was planning to get is only $296.
they are cheaper, that 900 dollar AMD you saw was an FX series, is comparable to a P4 extreme edition Intel which runs 999 dollars.

actually, the cheaper AMD chips outperform the more expensive comparable Intel chips.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.