would it be worth getting RDRAM? only one M/B compatible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2003, 02:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default would it be worth getting RDRAM? only one M/B compatible

The M/B is a GA-8IHXP http://www.scorptec.com.au/index.php?prdid=00002867 (by the way I'm Australian) the only one that supports PC800/1066 RDRAM im looking at building a PC and it seems to support a lot, and it is compatible with Hyper-threading but only at 533 MHZ FSB. 3.06 GHZ is the only P4 with 533 MHZ FSB and Hyper-Threading.

would you suggest getting this M/B or is it better to go with another M/B and get DDR RAM?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

You'll see better performance with a revision "C" pentium 4 paired with some quality sticks of PC3200 DDR running in dual-channel mode. There's pretty much no reason at all to be buying RDRAM these days, so you should probably look at the new Canterwood or Springdale chipset motherboards supporting the 800mhz fsb P4s and PC3200 DDR.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ok, well with motherboard and DDR RAM disks combined would it be less expensive? and if so would the price be low enough to get the 3 GHZ P4 with 800 FSB for almost the same price cos i want to build my PC so it costs close to $2000 (aus), over here the 800 FSB P4 is more expensive than the 533 but all of the 800's have HT
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

By the looks of it, it'll end up being approximately the same price. The RDRAM seems to cost a fair bit more, so I think it'll pretty much balance out. IMO it's well worth spending a bit extra to get an 800 FSB rather than a 533 since the extra performance is quite noticable.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 07-17-2003, 02:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ok, well i would have liked RD RAM but since there are better options i think I'll use a different M/B and have the 800 FSB
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.