Would it work?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2005, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
TonCrafter's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default Would it work??

My mom has an old Gateway pc thats about six or seven years old. It's a full tower case. Do you guys think there would be anyway for me to gut it and make a new pc out of it. After being here for awhile you all have me itching to try and build a comp on my own. So, if possible this would be a good pc to learn on.

TonCrafter is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900

I would think that building a PC with that old case might be tricky. Man manufacturers make the cases so that they are difficult to upgrade so that you have to buy a new comp instead of upgrading that one....stupid marketing ploys I think it might be tough to salvage that case and power supply is most likely not powerful enough for today's hardware. As another marketing ploy, computer manufacturers make it so that the power supply just supports the devices in the computer so you can't upgrade. What I'd recommend doing is getting a case of www.newegg.com . You can get a case and power supply for $60 bucks, which isn't bad. I'd be happy to help you customize a PC on here. How much are you spending and what will you be doing with it (gaming, video editing, etc.)? For one last thing, a great website to show you how to build is www.pcmech.com/byopc . I used it and it is very thorough. GOOD LUCK!

Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

hmm...how much can you spend on a new comp?

btw, you'll probably have to disassemble everything and that just leaves you with the case, which probably isn't that good anyways (does it even meet the standards of today's ATX?)

you should just build a new one (and plus, you can't even use the old comp's power supply)

I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
TonCrafter's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879

Thanks guys. I'll just have to start from scratch. I'm gonna do it one piece at a time. I don't have a whole lot of money to spend on it right now.................I just ordered an Alienware not long ago. So, I'll just get it one piece at a time. It's gonna be fun.
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.