would these be any good to overclock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 08:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Those PC3200s will get up to that DDR550 speeds as well.

G.Skills can generally hit a minimum of 275 if not closer to 300

They won't come out of the box at DDR500 likes been said, but they will run up there, but first you'll have to get your CPU there unless you lowered your multi to just match 275xwhatever = stock speed
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

how can you change your multiplier sorry haven't been in bios for a while.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well you're gonna need a good psu as chris said

somewhere along the lines of a OCZ powerstream 450W (cheapest option, but it's really good) if you don't have a power hungry gfx card
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

I was thinking about a thermaltake silentpurepower or something like that.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) silent purepower doesn't even give power close to what you need
2.) you need a 24pin psu

you're gonna have to get an OCZ modstream, or powerstream to be safe
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 09:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Well wouldn't a 20-24 pin adapter work I'm sure it would.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

This is another widely debated topic. Theres a lot of people using 20pin PSU's in the DFI boards that require 24 pins....I figure as long as you aren't running SLI'd GPUs and things like that itll be fine. Dude at Xtremesystem Oppainter I believe it is has a 3GHz overclock, 6800Ultra and crap like that and runs with a 20pin PSU, but yeah an adapter would work.

If you don't know how to change the multiplier Grim, you REALLY need to read more up on overclocking and get familiar with your BIOS before you go buying expensive *** RAM, a whole new setup, and expecting to OC like nothing.

AMD64's are slightly more complicated than Socket A systems when it comes to overclocking and the thing that is the most annoying on these forums is when people ask questions about overclocking that are really easily answered by the most basic of common sense and guidelines of overclocking.....most of those time those people just dive in without truly reading what it's all about and what's involved.

Time and time again I've seen questions about voltages and stability and just otherwise really simplistic questions that wouldn't even needed to be asked had they done reading and research.

Anywho, sorry for the rant
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.