would pc5300 work on pc4300 MB? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 41
Default would pc5300 work on pc4300 MB?

i figure it would right? the mb would clock the speed down to pc4300 right?

i have the choice of (sameprice)
1 PC5300 Non ECC DDR2 ram
or
1 PC4300 ECC DDR2 ram

which do yall think i should go for. . .

right now i have pny pc4300, so i thinking of getting 2 of the pc5300 and selling my pny memory. . .

"non ecc" isn't that big of a deal is it? error correcting does sound useful but for the price, which is better ?
__________________

chinh is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yea it will work it just will down clock. To run under the 4300 speeds.
I would buy the 5300 ram. Thats jsut my 2 cents.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It will downclock, but it's pointless to buy pricier ram
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Chris, he can get the 5300 for the same price as the 4300. Go for the 5300. If you upgrade later to a mobo that will support it, then you got what you need.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

chris u got told lol j/k
i didnt think it would work but i guess so
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 41
Default

so the ECC shouldn't be an issue in choosing huh?
__________________
Intel 3.4GHz HT
Intel D915PBL
1GB = 2x512MB PNY DUAL PC4300 DDR2
ATi Radeon x700 Pro PCI-E
250GB SATA Maxtor HD w/16mb cache
Dual Lite-On 16x Double-Layer DVD+/-RW Drive (SOHW-1673S)
Antec TrueBlue 520w
Altec Lansing 621
Belkin 802.11g w/ Hi Gain 6dB Omni-Directional Wireless Antenna
chinh is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

hey, just get the RAM with better cas latency and better timings... higher clocked memory tends to have poor latencies... maybe post the link, that would help
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 41
Default

http://www.micron.com/products/modul...HTF12864AY-667

CAS 5 . . .
__________________
Intel 3.4GHz HT
Intel D915PBL
1GB = 2x512MB PNY DUAL PC4300 DDR2
ATi Radeon x700 Pro PCI-E
250GB SATA Maxtor HD w/16mb cache
Dual Lite-On 16x Double-Layer DVD+/-RW Drive (SOHW-1673S)
Antec TrueBlue 520w
Altec Lansing 621
Belkin 802.11g w/ Hi Gain 6dB Omni-Directional Wireless Antenna
chinh is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
so the ECC shouldn't be an issue in choosing huh?
You really DON'T want ECC RAM, that is more for server application.

CAS 5 kinda sucks lol, but I would probably still go for it.

I actually will probably run Cas 4 at DDR533 so.... That's not that bad.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 41
Default

right now i'm running pny 4300 CAS 4. . .

the other choice is

2 x Hynix 256MB PC4300 ECC Unbuffered DDR2 memory modules.

The part # on both modules is HYMP232U728-C4AA
__________________

__________________
Intel 3.4GHz HT
Intel D915PBL
1GB = 2x512MB PNY DUAL PC4300 DDR2
ATi Radeon x700 Pro PCI-E
250GB SATA Maxtor HD w/16mb cache
Dual Lite-On 16x Double-Layer DVD+/-RW Drive (SOHW-1673S)
Antec TrueBlue 520w
Altec Lansing 621
Belkin 802.11g w/ Hi Gain 6dB Omni-Directional Wireless Antenna
chinh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.