Would a 500Watt psu handle this? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 11:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Antec give you solid power. Aspire is okay, they get people to buy them with thwir looks.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

what about thermaltake.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Well, Antec I have always liked but they are SO expensive. Thermaltake I havent really ever looked at. I also like the Wire managment in the MGE 600 Watt that I have been looking at. The only problem is it's $100.

I feel a little hesitant about buying a 500 Watt PSU for all of that stuff. I dont know if it can handle all of it.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The Thermaltake PSU's are great value for money, and are very good, with the Amp's and reliability, I think they are $50 as well.

Here is a link to put your mind at rest: http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/


I have a similarish pc running on a Antec 330watt true power PSU.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I have a Thermaltake and its quiet and good and really reliable.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Hmm that says I only need a 306 Watt PSU when the 6800 GT I have now needs alteast 350 according to the requirments.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 03:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i guess you used that psu calculator thing, that is really useful.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 12:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

A good quality 500 watt PSU willl handle that like nothing.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 12:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you can try to get PC Power and Cooling or Silverstone.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.