Worth it to risk overclocking??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2004, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default Worth it to risk overclocking???

I just got a new X800 pro gpu, and my processor is a P4 2.4 ghz, I have a fan on the top of the case, one on the side panel, and one in the back, i've heard from ppl that my processor would bottleneck my system pretty bad, is this true? And would the performance gains be worth it to overclock it, keep in mind that i've never overclocked before either. i appreciate any replies.
__________________

Hawkeye127 is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

do you want to risk 800+ dollars? If not then no
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

x800 pro isnt 800+ if somethings gona fry its the gpu, or u wana OC the cpu? Get suffiucient cooling for ur P4, i really recommend the cooler master hyper 48, then oc ur cpu and gfx if you wish
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 05:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

It sounded as if he wanted to over his cpu and gpu which is around 600-800 dollars....
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default

is it true though that my cpu is bottlenecking my gpu pretty badly? because if i can get good performance out of my gpu with my cpu as it is, then i wont worry about it.
Hawkeye127 is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 05:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

You mean slowing down your system thats basically impossible...unless you have like a 1 mhz cpu...its find run 3d mark and post the #
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 06:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ok, whoever you've been talking to hasn't at all looked at your sig.

Your RAM is SEVERELY bottlenecking both your CPU and GPU, I'd get that straightened out before worrying about your CPU bottlenecking the GPU, which in a sense makes absolutely no damn sense.

Quote:
You mean slowing down your system thats basically impossible...unless you have like a 1 mhz cpu...its find run 3d mark and post the #
That's basically true, there's no way your 2.4GHz CPU is bottlenecking that card, games are more GPU Intensive now-a-days and even the ones that aren't, are the older games, which means your CPU would work perfect for those conditions, so I wouldn't worry about a CPU bottlenecking your GPU as I would your RAM bottlenecking your CPU and GPU both...
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 06:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default

ok ty for the clarification, i have a pc2100 stick along with a pc2700 stick in right now, i could upgrade to pc2700 with out a problem, would it be worth it to shell out the extra bucks for pc3200 or would the pc2700 be enough?
Hawkeye127 is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well your PC2700 is still running at PC2100 speeds because the PC2100 isn't going to OC itself up to PC2700 speeds. I'd say if you can try to sell those sticks or atleast one, you really need to get at the very least PC3200 ValueRAM if there's absolutely no way you could get high performance (which don't worry most of us can't cause it's $$$$$$$$$$$$$ )

But for the most part, yeah you really need to look into PC3200 RAM as even PC2700 would still create a bottleneck on the GPU and CPU...

But it really also depends on what FSB your Processor is. You can get the same speed as your stock CPU at 2.4GHz by changing your FSB and multiplier so that you have a 400FSB system if it isn't already.

But you have to be able to lock the AGP bus to do so
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 06:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Default

ok, i'll definitely look into it, but my parents are being stubborn and wont let me spend any more on it as i have spent $600 already this weekend. What kind of performance kind i expect once the X800 arrives even with the pc2100 in games, will i still be able to run high graphics??

PS, i am upgrading from a radeon 9200 and from 512mb ram, so i will probably still be amazed by the performance i assume, and btw, my mobo supports ddr400 memory if thats what you mean.
__________________

Hawkeye127 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.