Worried about my computer's size. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2011, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Barreiro/Setúbal/Portugal
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to SHOTnSKILLZ Send a message via MSN to SHOTnSKILLZ
Question Worried about my computer's size.

Everyone please forgive me if I started this thread in the wrong place! I'm not really sure of this since I couldn't find a "Questions about Hardware" section but here's the deal:
I wanted to start making some videos of my gameplay through my PS3 with this capture card since is better than HD-PVR and way cheaper!
Here it is:
 

But the thing is: My computer's case is kind of small so I don't know if it would fit properly. I'll put some photos of my PC so you can let me know what y'all think.
 

 

 

Do you think that the Capture Card I showed before fits here?

 

 

BTW sorry, Image Shack flipped some of the photos. Anyway I'm counting on you friends!
__________________

SHOTnSKILLZ is offline  
Old 07-07-2011, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

That should work. You just need to take the bracket off the card. I did similar with a controller card on a slim desktop.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-07-2011, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

Does the card come with a low-profile bracket?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-07-2011, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Barreiro/Setúbal/Portugal
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to SHOTnSKILLZ Send a message via MSN to SHOTnSKILLZ
Arrow Re: Worried about my computer's size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Does the card come with a low-profile bracket?
I think so mate, check this out:

Put the video on 4:50 minutes and you will ear the guy talking about the brecket.
SHOTnSKILLZ is offline  
Old 07-07-2011, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

It would be easier to tell if you just linked to the actual product page, rather than an install video .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 01:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Barreiro/Setúbal/Portugal
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to SHOTnSKILLZ Send a message via MSN to SHOTnSKILLZ
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

Never mind friends. I just noticed that my slot is PCI and that Capture Card requires a PCI-Express slot.
I'm getting this on:
 


This thread may be closed. Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it
SHOTnSKILLZ is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

Yuo have a pci-e... its the tiny white one and the big blac k one.

And it has a low profile bracket.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 03:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Barreiro/Setúbal/Portugal
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to SHOTnSKILLZ Send a message via MSN to SHOTnSKILLZ
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Yuo have a pci-e... its the tiny white one and the big blac k one.

And it has a low profile bracket.
Really!? :O
I checked my bus type with PC Wizard and it only says PCI :O
Woah thanks!

So if I buy that capture card, I would need to connect it to the tiny with slot right?
SHOTnSKILLZ is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 03:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOTnSKILLZ View Post
Really!? :O
I checked my bus type with PC Wizard and it only says PCI :O
Woah thanks!
According to the picture you posted, you have a PCI-E slot. That's what the smaller, white slot is.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-08-2011, 04:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Worried about my computer's size.

Yha, you have both a pci-e x1 and x16 slot. No modern/4yr or newer pc doesn't have one.

You'll have to switrch brackets and pop it into an open case slot.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change the Firefox window size to a custom size Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-13-2007 09:35 PM
new computer's log talldude123 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 10-15-2006 07:21 PM
Using another computer's OS cd newton Microsoft Windows and Software 44 01-05-2006 03:37 AM
I'm new....I think my computer's sick...can anyone help? newgirl HijackThis Logs (finished) 12 12-03-2004 10:18 AM
HELP my Computer's Possesed! iammagi Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 04-11-2004 07:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.