World of Warcraft with a 56k - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 09:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

But, I would imagine that it would get pretty rough during large battles..... ..
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

i really struggle to see how this game could run fine down a 40k line, i would suspect it would be almost unbearable
__________________

espeed is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Good luck downloading the first patch at a 128.26 MB its going to be a big pain in the ball sack. Im doing it right now with DSL and its about 50% after 5 mins. So, you do the math.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

if you are going to do it, id suggest downloading the update file from a website as apposed to using the automatic updater, that thing is painfully slow at times
espeed is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

espeed, i thought you could only use the p2p system battle.net setup to get them patchs? anyways you cant do the large battles or you may time out.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

128.26Mb holy crap! That will take me about 20 hours straight to download. i guess i'll have to wait it out until college. I dunno, i'm still thinking it might be worth it, if only i could use up part of my 30 day thing now and then the other half when i go to college if it doesn't work for me now.
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

nah p2p is just for the lazy buggers who cant find the files on the websites, they can be easily located just by googling, i did it after i reformatted my pc and didnt want to suffer the painful transfer rate of p2p.
espeed is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tigerfootball05
128.26Mb holy crap! That will take me about 20 hours straight to download. i guess i'll have to wait it out until college. I dunno, i'm still thinking it might be worth it, if only i could use up part of my 30 day thing now and then the other half when i go to college if it doesn't work for me now.
just leave it goin over night, it will be done while you sleep
espeed is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

where would i get those files online?
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 11:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default

my friend plays on a 28.8 connection and says the lag is not bad really. just keep the detail sttings on low and you should be alrihgt. its like FFIXI, it runs pretty good online w/ 28.8 but just keep the setttings low.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.