A word of warning (7900GT's) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2006, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default A word of warning (7900GT's)

Folks, I just thought I'd give you all a bit of a warning when it comes to 7900 GTs that are factory OC'd, as most on the market are. This is a useful read if you are considering buying one, so take some time and just browse through this post.

It seems that many of the early build (not all) 7900 GTs just cannot cope with the OC that have been added to them. They will run stable for a few days, and then the core and memory chips will just 'spazz out', causing intermittent effects such as freezing, artifacting, and all other manner of nasties.
Obviously manufacturers have taken note of this and most 'new' 7900 GTs are fitted with better voltage control and cooling solutions, but there are a large number of 'old ones' still out there, so their is a chance that you might order one of these 'duds'.

Take this into account when considering buying a BFG, XFX, eVGA or Asus 7900 GT, as you may well have to RMA them after a few days. On the other hand, don't let this put you off buying the 7900 as it is an undeniably amazing card for its price.

SOLUTION - For those whom do happen to have an old 7900 GT that has these problems you have two options. You can either RMA your defective card and pray that your manufacturer ships a working one, and fast, or underclock the card back to standard speeds. The latter is quite a sad thing to have to do when having payed extra cash for a faster card, but sometimes its better than waiting weeks for a replacement to be sent. Use a program such as Rivatuner or Coolbits (both available from www.guru3d.com) to set the clock speeds to JUST under the standard clocks. A good clock speed that should run stable and still be of a good speed is 448 on the core (450 is standard) and 653 on the memory (660 is standard). Hope that helps any of you suffering with a 'naughty' 7900.

Here are a few links to website and forums that have info about the problem:

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...50aHVzaWFzdA==
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=14044
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=32083
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=32113

- Cheers, Ali the Diabetic.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

If you do want to buy one I dont recommend getting a BFG, well atleast until they have fixed the broken capacitor problem. My first one arrived with a broken capacitor, my second one artifacted like mad, Im on my third one at the moment. It isnt perfect but its as good as ill get.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 10:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

I've had to underclock mine to stock 7900 GT speeds, I'm not willing to be without a graphics card for weeks whilst they send a replacement. Its sad I know, but the computer is rather important to me, especially now that I have a lot of time to do nothing. Going out is all well and good, but one cannot do that 24/7.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 11:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

That is exactllywhat happened to my friends EVGA 7900GT (factory OCed to 500/1500), it worked fine for the first two days then it started to artifact like crazy to the point where it crashed his computer. But he just took it back to Microcenter and replaced it so it works fine now.

His dad bought it without him being there, he could have saved 50 bucks at the time if he got it off newegg. His dad also bought a AMD 4000+ for $400 bucks when he wanted to get a dual core (once again he wasn't there). He was telling me how he was mad about that but I just said "maybe if it was your money then it would be right to be angry" (his dad paid for his whole computer) Like the saying goes.... beggers can't be choosers.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Errr, yah, if someone spends like £200 on 'ya, I strongly doubt you have a right to be angry.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

can using an aftermarket heatsink/fan fix the problem?
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

It would seem so, IF the heatsink covers the RAM chips. So, if the heatsink is a little bigger than your standard cooler, everything should be fine.

The standard cooler only covers the core, meaning the ram modules overheat and cause instability.

I will post the email back and forthing I have had with BFG after I've recieved a few more replies. Sadly they seem to be refusing to acknowledge what many of us have found out.

They need to take a page out of eVGA's book!
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

my 7900 GT clocked at 550/1580.

works fine? OCed the core to 592 and will be volt modding, and memory is stable at 1824 effective.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 01:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Which manufacturer is it?

Either way, you lucky boy you!
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

eVGA
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.