Woot! just got 2005fpw - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2005, 08:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

It might be something like the problem i once had...your running at 1600x1050? I once tried cranking my X850 XT to super high rez in CS: Source and i started gettting this little purple lights. They would sit in one place of the level. They werent big, maybe an inch or so across. They didnt move with the screen, it was as if they were built into the walls/floors/ceilings. Turning the rez back down solved the problem
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

it's at 1680x1050 right now

if i tone the res down, then i can't enjoy it as much

the wierd thing is that it screwed up really bad with the 71.84 drivers, but the 66.93 drivers seems to fix it by about 90%, but i still get 10% of the artifacts
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 09:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Nice display diabloll! I'm sure you will enjoy it when you fix these problems.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 09:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

thx, but gggggggggreat

i hopped over to the nvidia forums and everyone has been having troubles with widescreen w/ DVI in CS:S and nvidia hasn't released a driver to fix this yet

meh
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Hmmm, that's wierd. I haven't had any problems. Have you tried .89?
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

.89 fixed a lot of it, but not the whole thing

some guy over at anandtech suggested that i reinstall CS:S, which i'll probably do and then see what happens
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yeah, worth a try. I wonder if there are conflicts with Monitor drivers like there are with GFX drivers? If worse comes to worse, you could always try a format...
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 01:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

argh

didn't work

hey idiotec, what drivers are you using?

edit: wierd, when i turned off 4aa/16af to no aa and trilinnear filtering af, the games ran smooth without any artifacting..

i'll test out each setting with different AA/AF tomorrow and see what the problem is
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 09:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Good luck diabloll. Hope you fix it. That is one heck of a display you have
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 03:19 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
hey idiotec, what drivers are you using?
Im using 89.

Quote:
edit: wierd, when i turned off 4aa/16af to no aa and trilinnear filtering af, the games ran smooth without any artifacting..
Sounds like it might just be working that 6600GT too hard at the high settings. 1680x1050 is pretty high resolution, add aa/af and it will definately strain a gfx card.

Have you monitored the temps when it was artifacting?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.