won't turn on!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Quiksilver311
Default won't turn on!!!

I just got my new case and power supply in and I moved all of my hardware over from the old computer to the new one. After spending many hours installing and making sure the cabling is neat, I go to turn it on and no power. The motherboard's lights come and I made sure the power switch was correct. If I pull the power to the mobo out just a little bit, the case lights start running and the mobo lights turn red. Any suggestions?
__________________

Quiksilver311 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Normally it is a stupid thing which causes your computer not to turn on, have you checked all the connectors? make sure they are in fermly. Make sure the 4pin and 20pin are in correctly too.
__________________

ApM is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Any beep codes?
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Quiksilver311
Default

Yea I made sure everything was firmly in place. I'm not using the 4pin cause I don't need it. There are no beep codes either. I notice though, after I unplug the power the mobo makes a single chirp noise when the lights go off on it. It was doing that before I swapped out last night though.
Quiksilver311 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Whoever told you that you DONT need the 4pin 12v power connector is on crack. If your board is no-post no-beep then it's dead.

What kind of hardware do you have?

how do people expect for us to diagnose problems when we dont know anything? Give us some details.

edit: sorry, i just got to work. i'm kind of pissy.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Quiksilver311
Default

Sorry bout that. No I am running an Athlon xp 2600 on a soyo board, so I don't use the 4 pin.






Specs:

athlon xp 2600+
512 gb ddr
(2) wd 80gb
(1) maxtor 200gb sata
radeon 9800 pro
audigy 2
thermaltake 480w
thermaltake armor
Quiksilver311 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

The motherboard doesnt have 4pin 12v? or you just arent using it?

the radeon 9800 has external power conntectors, make sure they're plugged in.

reseat your ram/proc/and cards.

no-post no-beep means the board is dead. Sometimes they can still light up, but not work. Try using a screwdriver (or other conductor) to power on your system instead of the switch, maybe its a bad switch. Make sure that your speaker is plugged in, so that you can hear beepcodes if there are any.

if that doesn't work, take the board out. make sure all the gold screw thingies are in their places, and not shorting out the board.

if that doesnt work, get a bigger hammer.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Best way to to fix this, get a 4pin molex connector and plug it into the fan, fan comes on PSU = no problem.

Repeat the process with all the molex's to check see if power is going through.

Simply remove everything from your computer and re-build it, I've found that is the best way because you tend just to put everything in and want to get it up and running.
ApM is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Quiksilver311
Default

No, the motherboard doe not have a 4 pin. I've reseated everything and power to it. I will try removing the board to see if it is shorting out. Thanks.
Quiksilver311 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Quiksilver311
Default

Ok I finally found it! It was a jumper that goes to the memory card reader in one of the drive bays. But it is working now. Thanks for the help.
__________________

Quiksilver311 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.