Won't Start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2005, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Exclamation Won't Start

My parents use a old systemax computer and when I was at school (im only 12) my mom was paying bills only(it is the only thing she knows how to do on it beside play solitaire and she needs my 9 year old brother to turn the computer on) but when she was finished she said she took a nap but didnt turn the computer off. After she picked me up from school (I dont take the bus) she wanted to play solitare so when I pressed the button to turn the computer on absolutely nothing happened no lights, whirrs or anything. So I took the hard drive out and hooked it up to a old computer I use with a knoppix linux live cd. It seemed all the files were still on the hard drive so I don't know why it won't start. The old systemax that won't start is
1.7 Ghz AMD atholon xp(i think)
Windows XP SP2
512 MB Ram
ATI Radeon 9200 video card(not the factory default video card)

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
Robert
__________________

mooseman is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

sounds liek a blown power supply. Check to see if the cables are all still connected and nothing has been tampered with.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I must say you are quite bright for your age Robert.

If you are recieving no power, I would suggest the culprit would be one of two things. The motherboard may be touching some part of the case and grounding itself out, or the PSU has fried.

Open up the case and smell around for any burnt smells or anything of that sort. Check all power connections and make sure that the PSU is hooked up and working properly. Also make sure the switch at the rear is set to the appropriate one position.

If the above fails to solve the problem, begin slowly taking out unneccessary parts one at a time and see if anything turns on. Hopefully that can get it to a point where even if there is a problem, it should report a beep error via the POST and you can pinpoint the problem.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Keep it up Robert! Remember..there is no such thing as a geek...but instead a Computer Wizard!
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 08:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

Thanks for all the quick responses Ok I took the PSU out of the systemax that won't start up and hooked it up to the computer that I use with the knoppix linux live cd and the computer turned on fine so I don't think it is the PSU. Any other ideas?

Thanks
Robert
__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

hmm. that only really leaves the motherboard and cpu. have u checked the the power switch cable hasnt come loose from the motherboard? try with only psu motherboard, cpu and graphics card. if still doesnt work and u know the psu is working it only leaves a dead motherboard or dead cpu. More likely itll be the motherboard if u wanna replace u can get them cheap enough, about £40 so thats about 60-70 USD i think.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

All the cables are tightley in place. Do you know want can cause dead cpu or motherboard?
__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

my gosh he sounds like me when i was 12!! (only 5 years ago, but hey)
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 02-17-2005, 11:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
I must say you are quite bright for your age Robert.
Man, that is what I was thinking when I read this. Half of the people here write something like they are high on crack.

Do not forget the importance of proper English and manners when you get older. It seems most of the people now days see no importance in spelling, grammar, paragraphs, capitalization etc…
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 08:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

Thanks for all the replies . It sounds like my dad just wants to replace whatever is broken the CPU or motherboard (or whatever part is broken) but now the question is how do we find out which part has expired?

Thanks,
Robert
__________________

__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.