Won't pass POST test, and its not that RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default Won't pass POST test, and its not that RAM

This is to consolidate an ongoing discussion (and to redirect it):

I came back from Christmas vacation last night and tried to check my email....

Unfortunately my computer won't boot and I'm at a loss at what to do next. I've had the computer since Jan 2003. I've had some problems lately bluescreening infrequently...but nothing this serious before.

It does not pass the POST test (no Beep), all that happens is the fans go on, the power light is on, and any drive lights are on, the numlock key can toggle. The monitor is connected but powers down (because no signal is sent).
  • I've disconnected any pci cards
  • I've removed power & cables from the optical drives
  • I've removed power & cables from the hard drive

That leaves either faulty Ram, bad CPU or bad motherboard. So,
  • I've removed the ram completely - no POST
  • I've purchased new RAM and tried it as well
  • I've powered on with the CPU and RAM removed
  • I've reseated the CPU and reapplied thermal compound

I believe that it can POST with only the CPU and motherboard. But, unfortunately, it isn't. Is there any way to distinguish which is the problem (CPU/Mobo)?

Please post any other ideas before I order a new CPU....

Here's my specs:
MSI Motherboard (VIA Chipset)
AMD Athlon XP 2100 (1.67 Ghz)
512 MB Ram (removed)
__________________

__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

test if it's the video card, by taking it out, turn it on and listen for beeps (which should be telling you there is no video)

somehow I doubt it is the CPU, unless it hadn't got enough cooling, which is rare for most people unless you're an overclocker
so I would say it's the motherboard if not the video card
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default

Thanks for the suggestion, but it's running onboard video.

I did try a Geforce 4 in the AGP slot anyways. No beep, no POST.
__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well then I would say it's probbably the motherboard
have you got a warranty on it?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default

I'll check tomorrow to see...if it is the motherboard, any recommendations? (or if I should just upgrade...)
__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

upgrades can be pretty cheap now

a refurbished motherboard like this is pretty descent, you don't really have to get a new CPU, but Socket A CPU's are really cheap now
you can get an Athlon XP 2800+ for under $100
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 04:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Probably the Motherboard Upgrade to AMD 64 if you have the money
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 11:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default

Well, I bought a DFI NFORCE 2 NF-II 400-AL $59 locally

It solved the problem...but I having some problems finding the right processor speed (it says its 1.25 ghz instead of 1.67 ghz).

Does anyone know anything about this mobo? I heard the nforce chipsets perform well...but I don't know about DFI. It doesn't seem as well supported.

Should I return it and try something else?
__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 12:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Try updating your BIOS...
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 12:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bengance
Thanks for the suggestion, but it's running onboard video.

I did try a Geforce 4 in the AGP slot anyways. No beep, no POST.
stop right there for a sec. lets talk about this...
you say no beep, no post?
are you sure there was no post... could there have been a post, but you didn't see it b/c there were no drivers installed at that point? and/or the on board was still active and monitor was connected to the new vid. card...
???

i want to rule this out first.

thanks
__________________

__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.