it won't boot up :(( help... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2004, 03:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Unhappy it won't boot up :(( help...

I have an old AMD K-6 500Mhz processor PC with ALI chipset and AWARD Bios. When I turn on the pc it will check the ram and then it will recognize the CD drive and hard disk but then it says CMOS Check Sum Error (

What do I do?
__________________

kalpak is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 04:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Buy a ... I mean can you hit del to get in bios.
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

has anyone worked on it , have you changed anything ?
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Default

yes, I had a 200gb maxtor hd that had an ATA card with it. then I took that out and put it on this computer. then it got messed up. i tried booting with linux CDs but nothing! it already has a 4gb hd. then I took out the battery from the mobo. now this.....
kalpak is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

You took out your battery to your motherboard.The one that saves all your bios on it.Dont think you can relaod a bios.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Default

dude! the bios only restarts with the battery removed. it is permanently on a chip! that's not the problem!

any other ideas?
kalpak is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 02:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

I had this same problem once on an older computer, and if I remember right, I fixed it by changing the battery. Have you tried that? Seemed like because the battery was dying, there was something that wasn't getting stored right when the computer was shut down, and by replacing the battery, that fixed it.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

On my board you reset a pin to 2 and 3 and it reset's.On 1 and 2 is default.I dont know of any chip that stores things without electricity.Hard drives write to plater's.Thus pull out a hard drive and the info is still there.A chip dosent write anything to a plater.It stores thing with electric.Take away the electricity.Nothing is stored there.I guess i could be wrong.They must get the bios in the chip some how.

You took out a hard drive and put it on this computer. Did you reload the OS.Are the 2 computers that much similar.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Default

well I will change the battery see what happens but I doubt that this is the problem. I might also need to upgrade the bios.

Bios is an EEPROM with some RAM which stores your config, you can write on it with software and when you take the battery out it will reset. If it was static you couldn't do anything! muchless update the bios.
kalpak is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
Default

does anyone know what this CRC Check Sum Error is?
I know what it means in theory which is that some bits have been corrupted somehow and the check sum is not the same but how can I get rid of it? any ideas of how it happened?
__________________

kalpak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.