Won't boot from CD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2004, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Won't boot from CD

Hey folks, I'm trying to boot from a windows 98 CD on an old pentium. It'll ask if I want to boot to the CD and it tries, but then nothing......
__________________

Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

what are the pc specs? maybe u need a boot floopy with cd support
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 06:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default

HP Vectra Pentium I "low" Mhz
Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

wow, hehe. looks like some1 has a slower pc than major, lol.
Did ur pc come with a bootable floppy with the cd drivers? ull need to boot up with them, then put in the cd.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 06:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default

Thanks, by the way.

How do I make a boot floppy with CD support?
Echo Kilo is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

u need to go to ur cd drives website, and get the drivers, then create a floppy, and the drivers u dled should have instructions on how to add them to floppy. basically just copy them to the floppy
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 06:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Go to the HD Website and download a disk utility to zero out the HD/ format the drive.Change your boot order in bios so your CD Rom is 1st boot device .After your installed change your boot order Back to Floppy/HD/CDROM
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 06:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U can download a bootfloppy from www.bootdisk.com
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.