Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2010, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Question Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

My dad has been obsessed with the idea of having his computer show up on the TV since he found out it was possible a couple months ago. He has a really out dated laptop and the only output is S-Video and I believe VGA? Our TV is very in-date I suppose you can say, it has HDMI ports, it's Sony I believe, and if I'm not mistaken it has a USB port, but just in case it doesn't since I could be mistaken, let's forget that as an option.

So what's the cheapest and most efficient way (Without lag hopefully) to give my dad the ability to sit back from across the room and show off YouTube videos to the family from his laptop to the TV wirelessly including video and sound.

Thanks! I appreciate it a lot!
__________________

Unregistered011012 is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

Well, the cheapest is a s cable to rgb adapater, but then you need a long cable but thats with no sound.

You could run a media player device. I use an old dlink dm-320, and a media server application, like tversity. That would only serve media, pictues, music or video. Not his desktop.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Well, the cheapest is a s cable to rgb adapater, but then you need a long cable but thats with no sound.
Are you talking about doing it wiredly? We've done that with an S-Video wire, it worked alright, it was just short and didn't have sound (We needed an headphone wire or 3.5", whatever it's called :P). We can easily go out and get the cables for S-Video and headphone but it's way too much wires and my parents hate the idea of wires (They're still waiting for the day when everything, including electricity, will be wireless).
Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
You could run a media player device. I use an old dlink dm-320, and a media server application, like tversity. That would only serve media, pictues, music or video. Not his desktop.
Ah yeah, we'd need the desktop to be shown. Not just media files. Mainly for the idea of streaming video hosted on the internet from other media players outside of YouTube.

Thanks for the help! :)
Unregistered011012 is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

Ah... tversity is pretty good... You put the video url, or in youtube yo can use your user name and it'll pull your favorites, subscriptions and playlists... but for dsesktop showing it isnt.

Fou nd this on newegg.. no opinon though on it
Newegg.ca - IOGEAR Wireless HD Computer to TV Kit GUWAVKIT2 VGA/HDMI Interface
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

I don't think he's in Canada, mate.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...0wireless%20hd
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

Doh... my newegg defaulted to canada when i swore i clicked .com

And why does everyone call everybody "mate" now?

I'm not anybodys mate... I'm not in the Navy, and only 10 of yous are Australian, and 15 British.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Ah... tversity is pretty good... You put the video url, or in youtube yo can use your user name and it'll pull your favorites, subscriptions and playlists... but for dsesktop showing it isnt.
Yeah, the problem with that is my dad uses sites other than YouTube to stream video. So I'm definitely looking for something that will show everything the computer streams.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Ah, thanks! It's a bit pricey, but that's definitely the idea I was looking for, I believe my uncle has something of that sort. I'll email it to him now.
Unregistered011012 is offline  
Old 12-18-2010, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Doh... my newegg defaulted to canada when i swore i clicked .com

And why does everyone call everybody "mate" now?

I'm not anybodys mate... I'm not in the Navy, and only 10 of yous are Australian, and 15 British.
I'm accustomed to say it. I talk to a lot of ppl in the UK.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-19-2010, 09:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Wirelessly sending computer screen and sound signals to a TV?

I'm in the UK, I don't say 'mate'. Horrible word :P "Hi, mate" ...mate? I've never met you before.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smartphone will connect wirelessly but not computer lucylikestea Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 11-18-2010 12:36 PM
1 router, 2 computer, can connect wirelessly akasixcon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 12-18-2008 04:54 PM
Computer freeze patches when connected wirelessly plant Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 10-08-2007 06:14 AM
Streaming Sound Wirelessly msmit23 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 01-24-2006 09:39 PM
Computer starts but no monitor signal or usb signals TheTalent Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 11-29-2005 02:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.