Wireless router setup problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2004, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Default Wireless router setup problem

I bought a NETGEAR RP614 router last week to so I could connect both my Dell Inspiron 3500 laptop with Windows 98 and my desktop with XP Home Edition to my cable modem. I set both computers according to the manual (which is very easy to follow). All the lights worked as the book indicated, but that's as far as I could get. The next step was to connect to http://192.168.0.1 to configure the router. I didn’t have Internet access with either computer, so I reconnected the modem to my desktop and got the message, "The page cannot be displayed." I tried again last night with the same result.

Netgear only has e-mail technical support; the first time I contacted them I got what looked like an automated response saying if this didn’t solve my problem to reply and get a personal response. That was last Friday. I sent another e-mail yesterday (Saturday), but have heard nothing.

I have an Encore wireless PC card for my laptop.

Can anyone help me?
__________________

wdon is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Try renewing your IP.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for your prompt reply. I'm sorry, but could you explain what you mean by renew?
wdon is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 02:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Your setting it manuely for some reason and not using Home networking on XP.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-15-2004, 03:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

unplugging the power for the modem, and plugging it back in can renew your IP and get you a fresh connection
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I learned that one problem was that my router wasn't wireless.
Today I received my new wireless Netgear router, and it works fine with my desktop, but I can't get my laptop to work with it. I have an Encore 2.4GHx 11 Mbps pci cardbus adapter, but following the instructions, I came to a dead end. The installation wizard went through the installation OK, but then it said to go to the "wireless cardbuss adpter utility" to continue the configuration. I can't find this utility. There is a "utility" folder on the disk, but it just holds the setup file.

There is no support section, so noone to contact.

Do you have any suggestions.

Thanks.

Wayne
__________________

wdon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.