wireless router location - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default wireless router location

was wonderin where would be the place to place a wireless router? i live in a 3 story house...would the 1st floor be best and poin the antennas upwards/sideways? i also heard placein it on the cieling works good to...any tips?
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I live in a three story apartment. There is one cable outlet, on the first floor. The landlords absolutely positively will not allow another cable outlet to be placed anywhere else. Getting a wireless router was my best solution to have computers on the second and third floors. I have a D Link DI 624, and D Link DWL G520 PCI adapters on my two desktops, at the second and third floors. With the standard antennas, I have a full connection reading Very Good to Excellent on the third floor. I do angle my antenna back at about a 45 degree angle, because I read the top of the omni directional antenna have the weakest signal, with most of the signal strength being horizontal to the antenna.
With my Axim X30, I can get a fairly decent signal outside the apartment as well.
Unless you have cathedral ceilings on every floor, you should be ok.
__________________

lawcox is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I try to put them as high as possible, preferably in the area between the roof and ceiling.

But if you have a smaller house, just leave it in your basement.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Just dont have it near amy cordless phones, they operate on the same frequency.
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 09:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

"they *might* operate on the same frequency."

If the cordless phone really does operate on the same frequency, having both of them transmit at the same time "will" cause problems as long as their coverage area overlaps.. Even if 802.11 has collision detection/avoidance, I don't believe cordless phones have the same capability... (I think!).. Haven't read much about cordless phone specs. lol
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

I heard keep it away from masons lowers the strength (basement)
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

If you have ever noticed, channels 1-11 are all 2.4xx GHz on a wifi. you can change the xx by selecting a different channel, but it is still 2.4 GHz. most all cordless phones are now 2.4GHz. Unless it is 5.8 GHz, or 900MHz. I was just making a geralization. It wont definetely cause interference, but there is a better than average chance that it will. In my experience, being either too close or too far from the router will both be detrimental to your quality. In my bedroom, where my router is, I cannot use my wireless card. But as soon as I step out of my bedroom, it works. Kind of weird.

Quote:
Originally posted by GrimReaper23
I heard keep it away from masons lowers the strength (basement)
You mean if you keep it from concrete and things of that sort, wignal strength will lower? Thats weird man, figured concrete would only prove to impair the signal..

Quote:
Originally posted by bronxblaza117
was wonderin where would be the place to place a wireless router? i live in a 3 story house...would the 1st floor be best and poin the antennas upwards/sideways? i also heard placein it on the cieling works good to...any tips?
I'm thinking second floor. Picture your signal as a big circle around you router, your router being the center. Being in between all of the potential machines to connect to it would be the best way to guarantee signal all over the house IMO.
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Depends on the construction of your house, dude, but basically, you just want to put it in a place where it has as little as possible to go through to reach your computers.

I have mine in the basement, just because that's where I installed the cable jack. I got the boosted antennae for the modem, and have little to no problems. The only place I've encountered difficulty is on the 3rd floor in the master bath, since it's all stone tile with a steel understructure (damned oversized tub! ).

You're best bet is to experiment. Place it on the bottom floor, and wander around with yer laptop and see the connection status. If it's bad, try moving it up to the second floor, and so on. Also, the position of the modem on the floor itself can have an effect. For instance, if I placed my modem on the right-side of my basement, it'd be up against the wall containing the air-conditioner, and I'd have trouble getting a signal in places of my house where my laptop "sees" through the air-conditioner to the modem.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Also, the position of the modem on the floor itself can have an effect. For instance, if I placed my modem on the right-side of my basement, it'd be up against the wall containing the air-conditioner, and I'd have trouble getting a signal in places of my house where my laptop "sees" through the air-conditioner to the modem.

Woah, wait, what? Position of the modem itself? Please explain further. I have some real wireless difficulties at my house, and my parrents depend on it for work.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.