Wireless Mouse Has A Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2004, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Mr.Groovy
Default Wireless Mouse Has A Problem

Hi, I have a problem w/ a wireless mouse.

In these days, my wireless mouse often moves itself. (What I mean by that is it moves even when I did not touch/move my mouse)

What I did
  • I replaced battery w/ new one (I use rechargable battery)
  • I reinstalled the hardware
  • I cleaned my wireless mouse!

and none of them, worked.
__________________

Mr.Groovy is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Laser
Default

Try making a new connection between the receiver in the mouse. I ahd the same problem when i first got my Logitech wireless mouse but when i made the new connectoin between my mouse and the receiver it all seemed to stop moving on its own.
__________________

__________________
If it aint broke, fix it till it is.
---------------------------------
System Specs
MSI K8N Platinum
Athlon64 3500+ Skt. 939
Corsair TwinX 3200 1GB Dual Channel
2 80GB SATA 150 in Raid0
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
Sapphire ATI Radeon x850XT
Sony 48x12x48x16 CDRW/DVD Combo
Laser is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

What type of mouse is it, does it have the ball, or does it use the laser? If it's the laser, which I'm betting it is, you need to look at the surface that it's on. My desk at work has a fake wood finish on it, and my mouse will move by itself sometimes. I've been told the best type of surface is a simple solid color, like gray. No texture, or words.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Send a message via Yahoo to raj_1024
Default

every wireless mouse have channels to set may 4 or5 check all channels by enabling and disabling each one of them then at one appropriate channel your mouse may not move .these channels are used to avoid interfere of some other radio waves present in the air.
__________________
hi everybody
raj_1024 is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

you can always try updating the driver, you'd be surprised what a difference it can make to get onto an updated driver.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Mr.Groovy
Default

Thanks for your help!!!
But, I am a very bad noob of comp., and therefore have some questions...

Laser> How do you make new connection? (this seems the easiest way to do... but i don't know how to make new connection)
raj_1024> I got what channel is, but can you tell me how you can change it?
HoLoCroN> How can I update my driver? Do you mean reinstalling it again?
Mr.Groovy is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 03:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

you press the little connect button on the reciever then the button on the mouse (on the back of the mouse) and u hold it for 20 seconds i think it is. You know what it is prob.. somthing is interfering with ur channel. So its making it move by its self.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 05:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Mr.Groovy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
you press the little connect button on the reciever then the button on the mouse (on the back of the mouse) and u hold it for 20 seconds i think it is. You know what it is prob.. somthing is interfering with ur channel. So its making it move by its self.
Thanks, but it didn't work.
I tried it about three times and no luck...

Do you have any advices?
Mr.Groovy is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

how old is the mouse? maybe the mouse is going bad? maybe its defective?
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 06:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Mr.Groovy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
how old is the mouse? maybe the mouse is going bad? maybe its defective?
it's not that old... it's just like... 7 months, i think.
it was fine two months ago, but became sooooooo bad these days...
(it sometimes clicks)
__________________

Mr.Groovy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.