wireless internet on my laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default wireless internet on my laptop

hey guys, i just bought a new inspiron 5160 laptop and i ordered SBC global dsl. I also purchased a netgear wireless router and i was wondering how can i get wireless internet ie. in my car or at my friends house without any wires attached to my laptop. Im new to laptops so i need like full proof strategies and tips and hints. Totally apreciated, thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
Default

well, you can only get access to your router when you're in range of it (depending on whether it is a 802.11b/g router). It is a possiblity though, that you can find wireless hotspots, try looking into a hotspot finder keychain! these can be very usefull. Other than that, you will have to be near a wireless connection to use your wireless capabilities.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You need to find a spot with an unsecured wireless network. It's illegal though...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Tapping unsecured wireless networks is not illegal, i think. Tapping secured/encrypted is.
You have a bad idea of what wireless networks are. They only extend to a 50 m radius; like the size of a house. They will not reach to your friend's house; they might reach your car; only if your car's parked at your house. ^^
Finding hotspots and useing your friend's network is your best bet for using your laptop's capalities outside of your house.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Umm i have had some cheap routers reach 300ish meters.

And yes connecting to even an unsecured wireless router that does not belong to you (and is not public) is illegal
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Quote: And yes connecting to even an unsecured wireless router that does not belong to you (and is not public) is illegal
My apologies, DJ-CHRIS. I've a) never tried and b) gotten sued for it.

Yes, there are access points that advertise 200+ ranges. I don't know how well they work. So, you can use you're wirless network at friends houses as long as they are only 300 meters or less away. -_-
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I have gotten into wireless networks that are 300m away before.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
well, you can only get access to your router when you're in range of it (depending on whether it is a 802.11b/g router). It is a possiblity though, that you can find wireless hotspots, try looking into a hotspot finder keychain! these can be very usefull. Other than that, you will have to be near a wireless connection to use your wireless capabilities.
Any idea wherer I can get a hotspot finder keychain? That sounds useful.
Regulus is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

....and i haven't...300 m is a long distance. That's over 1/4 of a kilometer.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

https://www.canarywireless.com/ - $50
http://www.smithmicro.com/default.tp...sku=WIFISEEKER - $30
http://pcworld.pricegrabber.com/sear...sterid=3777115 - $30
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.