Wireless - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default Wireless

I'm not really sure where this should go, but I'll put it here. Anyways, anyone whope has a DS should know that the Wireless game play is now active, and you can get Mario Kart DS Monday. Well, I need to make a wireless access point for my DS. If I buy a USB adapter, will I be able to bridge that with my current connection? I am looking at buying a PCI wireless card, but I'm not sure if it will work (I hope it will), I'm pretty sure I can bridge that, but am not sure if the USB adapter will come up as a wireless connection and allow me to bridge.
__________________

__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

Using XP pro it will work as long as windows (i'm assuming that is what you are using) can talk to the NIC - i.e the network connection shows up under network connections in the control panel. Most will allow for this - however i would recommend getting a pci card if you can. If not i know Netgear do one that will work, although i couldnt tell you the model number.

Also I believe you have to be using XP Pro to bridge connections, or at least i dont think XP Home will allow ICS (internet connection sharing) - if someone wants to verify this?

Windows also wants its IP address set at 192.168.0.1 in order to allow ICS - i dont know of any way around this (not saying there isn't one) but if you have a network set up with your router at 192.168.0.1 then it may take some reconfiguring.
__________________

fitzjj is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

I have a router, but may do away with it sometime soon. My router is set as 192.168.1.1 though, and Windows allows it. I know you can bridge connections in XP home, since I accidentally did it on my cousins' computer. I am looking at buying the PCI card from apsire, so I'll most likely be getting that instead of the USB, but I wanted to know just incase the deal fell through. Thanks.

Next Monday, I'm going to EB and buying Mario Kart DS, it's gonna be in my backpack befor I get to school so I can play all day during class....erm I mean my breaks.
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 01:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

If your router is set at 192.168.1.1 then there will be no conflict, that is fine. I was more concerned with whether XP home has internet connection sharing capabilities. http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u..._02july01.mspx does not say that it is restricted to xp pro, so you may well be fine - follow the link and give it a try (dont have to set it up, just check the box is there to check). But thinking about it i dont know whether any version of XP will allow for sharing of a wireless connection... If i were you i'd would recommend just getting a wireless router, it'll make things far simpler.
fitzjj is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fitzjj
If your router is set at 192.168.1.1 then there will be no conflict, that is fine. I was more concerned with whether XP home has internet connection sharing capabilities. http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u..._02july01.mspx does not say that it is restricted to xp pro, so you may well be fine - follow the link and give it a try (dont have to set it up, just check the box is there to check). But thinking about it i dont know whether any version of XP will allow for sharing of a wireless connection... If i were you i'd would recommend just getting a wireless router, it'll make things far simpler.
And cost me another $30 that I don't have........
__________________
Old Specs:
Intel Celeron D 2.8Ghz
1G RAM
80G Seagate Baracuda 7200.7
GeForce FX5500 (PCI) OCed to 300/500
am I missing anything?

^DEAD^

Now: Toshiba Sattelite L35-S2161 running Ubuntu :)
RadRacer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.