Wipe my mobo's BIOS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2004, 10:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Question Wipe my mobo's BIOS?

I have an MSI K7T Turbo 2. Out of the box, it supports up to an Athlon XP 1800+ processor. However, I've downloaded a BIOS update for it that says it will offer support for the 2400+ and 2600+ Athlon XP. I'm a little worried that if I install this, it could leave me with a PC that won't boot. The readme.txt file included with the files cautions against installing the upgrade if your computer is already working fine, partially for this reason.

My Question: Has anybody upgraded their BIOS like this? Could you please share your experiences with me?
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it"
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

hah, wish my dad didnt take the quote to mind with our 11-year old tv
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

The whole reason I'm downloading it is so that I can upgrade to a faster processor, not just for the hell of it. The instructions seem simple enough, though.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

They are. Just be sure to follow them. If they tell you not to touch the computer for a few minutes, then don't. As Microbell said, print them out so you can refer to them.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Thanks for your help everyone! I'll look into ordering the new CPU and begin my upgrade. I'm finally installing Windows XP and then maybe another 512 mb of RAM. After that, no more I Promise!
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.