Windows XP Pro doesn't see Hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2004, 08:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default Windows XP Pro doesn't see Hard drives

Anyone know why WIN XP doesn't see my hard drive when trying to install? I went through the BIOS but may be missing something. I know they are connected.
Can anyone give me some reasons to jog my memory

Thanks
Steve
__________________

sjm1027 is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

are they showing up in BIOS?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 09:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default

Yes,
Hard disk drives:
1st sata378 TX2 plus D0
2nd sata378 TX2 plus D1
3rd via VT6420 1st HDD

does the 3rd look funny with 1st hdd listed? I want D0 to be the c drive

Thanks
sjm1027 is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

matbe the drives are not partitioned/formatted or the partitions are hidden
try PartitionMagic or open disk manager in Windows
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 09:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

sata arent plug and play devices. if you are putting on a fresh install, then you nee to fit F6 when the setup screen first appears and insert the disk that has the SATA drivers on it. If you dont have a copy of them they can be downloaded from the manufacturers website. there is a good guide on SATA drives at the top of this forum
sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default

I am using the f6 with the supplied software. I also changed the raid conectore to ide setting.
2 connectors labels raid sata and 2 labeled sata. If I change bios to ide they should work right?
sjm1027 is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 11:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to sjm1027 Send a message via Yahoo to sjm1027
Default

Ok Now I managed to get that Windows can not install on a partitioned disk. It shows me 2 disks on the screen Disk D and Disk C. I scroll to disk C and it goes into a disk format. Then to finishes and goes into a reboot and boots from CD again askes for F6 Again and repeats the same thing. It's like I am in a loop.
XP does list 2 hard drives but thinks each one is partitioned I am currently fortmatting the 2nd drive...

Steve
sjm1027 is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 12:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

ez solution get a IDE HDD install XP then use the seagate utility to copy the HDD image to your sata then you have urself an image and never have to use th installer disk again
__________________

__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.