Windows XP automatically Installing Hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2003, 03:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default Windows XP automatically Installing Hardware

Everytime I uninstall the sound driver that came with my mother board in XP, it tells me to restart. I do. Then XP automatically installs it again. Which pisses me off.... How can i make it so it doesn't install it?
I will post board info if needed but i dont think its neccisarry.
__________________

healingsakura is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 04:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

I dont think you can stop it as far as I know.
If youre just trying to downgrade (or even upgrade) a driver just uninstall the current one and install the driver you want without restarting
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
Default

i think the way to do it is not to uninstal it, but to deactivate it.
-install the new sound card
-restart computer
-goto device maneger, and disable the old one

that is how i did it, tell me what happens
SilverTurtle is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

i have my main one installed. but the other one keeps installing itself ill try disableling..
healingsakura is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 12:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

This is correct, any on-board device, that was once uninstalled, will attempt to reinstall itself as Windows restarts. Try to disable it instead and this should work fine.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 01:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

make sure to remove its irq, dma, and io addresses as you will prolly need those for your new sound card
dethangel is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

If you disable the integrated sound, you will be able to use the old DMA, IRQ and I/O for the new one.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-25-2003, 03:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

I think you can disable it in the bios, if I'm not mistaken.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 12-26-2003, 08:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

thx guys i got it
__________________

healingsakura is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.