Windows XP activation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2004, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default Windows XP activation

I need to "activate" my OS, Win XP Home. I copied the code/number thing down, and tried to call them to give me the activation code/number. I couldn't seem to get through, so does anyone know the site where I can put my No. in and get the code? Thanks
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

goto start, run and type in this, it lets you activate your os on the net.

%systemroot%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /a

wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Usually, the online activation does not work. If you try it online, and it does not work, XP will give you a number, the number worked for me just a little over a month ago. Actually, the number has always worked for me on all my computers.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Well, on MY computer, internet isn't hooked up. What I'm trying to do is get the # from the comp I'm on now, and copy it down, then put it into MY comp. So I need the site...
Regulus is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ok, sorry
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

K, so just try it online (even if you aren't online) and obviously it will fail and will tell you the number to call to do it over the phone.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

call them i had to
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.