windows wont boot with new mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2004, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Default windows wont boot with new mobo

i installed a new mobo last night (soyo dragon 2 p4I865PE+) ... my computer boots fine but wont boot into xp... i get a blue screen that says "a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down blah blah blah..."
__________________

Ph3nyX is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Did you reformat the HDD?
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 11:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Default

no, i was hoping i could get around that...
Ph3nyX is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 11:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

That is the only way to resolve this issue.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default Re: windows wont boot with new mobo

Quote:
Originally posted by Ph3nyX
i installed a new mobo last night (soyo dragon 2 p4I865PE+) ... my computer boots fine but wont boot into xp... i get a blue screen that says "a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down blah blah blah..."
try doing a repair installation (not the recovery consol). Anytime you replace a mtb (different chipset) in xp or 2k you need to reinstall the OS. You don't necessarily need to format the drive though. Try the repair, and if you experience problems after that, backup data and reload from scratch.
Blueman is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Reformatting will give you stability.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 04:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

yes reformatting will give you stability but maybe he dosent want to lose his stuff. Boot off of your Xp cd and repair the instalation like Blueman said and if that dosent work then make a fresh copy overwriting the old one and transfer all of your old documents and settings.(copy paste the old documents and settings folder and paste it over the old one) Defragmenting your HD wont be a bad idea if you make a fresh copy BTW.
__________________

Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.